Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Repairing Gutter Rash: DIY

impulsive

Alloytec Racing
Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Alloytec
Hey all and welcome to my DIY on reparing Gutter Rash Rims, now please forgive me if you have a better way i am all ears but this is my first attempt at repairing a VERY BADLY DAMAGED 19 Inch ROH Fury Rim to ALMOST NEAR NEW condition, now please remember this is my first go and may look dodge but it was VERY BAD as you will see..

Requirements
QTY of beers
80 Sand Paper $1.20 per sheet
320 Sand Paper $1.20 per sheet
800 or 1000(wet n Dry) Sand Paper $1.20 per sheet
Body Filler - I went to Supercheap and bought some Beige Septone One Step Filler $15.00 per can
Spray Paint - I used Plasti-Kote Black Gloss from Bunnings $15.00
Clear Coat - I again used Plasti Kote Clear Super from Bunnings $20.00

In the beginning​
102_1498.jpg

Hopefully yours is not this bad

The Process
Sanding..
Remove wheel from rim, and remove the wieghts. i never did this but should of straight away, local tyre shop can do this or if, like me you work in an enviroment that has the ability to remove it go there as its free. Also remove center circle badging in this case the ROH, should just push out with a broom handle or handle of screw driver. Then proceed with your chosen coarse of sand paper (i used 60P originally then changed to 80P) to sand back all of the scratches and dents to a smooth surface. Plz check the whole rim for integrity damage ie bends and cracks in spokes and the rim lips. Any really damaged area's will need a lot of attention as i had to in the two heavily damaged spots on the spokes.

102_1507.jpg

102_1504.jpg