Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

replaces snapped belt and now wont start

patskies

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
townsville
Members Ride
VT SS LS1 (vz monaro themed)
My belt snapped today. i replaced it with a new one and now my VS V6 ute wont start. it cranks fine.

two points:

plug to oil pressure switch came off

i had to pick bits of shredded belt from behind harmoic balancer.

im thinking its the crank angle sensor.

any ideas?
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
439
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
crank angle sensor or wiring busted
 

soop

Banned
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
3,847
Reaction score
58
Points
0
Location
Smithton, Tasmania.
Members Ride
2003 SS Commodore Series II
^^^
What he said, look at the harmonic balancer, you'll see all sorts of grief.

You're going to cry when you get the bill too...
 

patskies

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
townsville
Members Ride
VT SS LS1 (vz monaro themed)
as it happened last night in the dark i couldnt see ****, so im about to go have a look now. it shouldnt cost too much as il do everything at home.

with the oil pressure switch. should it still be able to start even if the wires were broken? or it was disconnected?
 

The1

A Memcal a Day Keeps..
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
2,367
Reaction score
45
Points
48
Location
QLD
Website
www.eyeit.org
Members Ride
VS V6 Berlina Auto
no the oil switch runs through the fuel pump, so no pumping fuel if no oil pressure.
 

patskies

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
townsville
Members Ride
VT SS LS1 (vz monaro themed)
there are 3 wires to the il pressure switch. which wires do i have to bridge to bypass the oil pressure switch?
 

RX25SE

Real cars are steel cars.
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
MY07 Liberty 30R Spec B 6sp wagon
Does it have spark?

Can hear the pump buzzing in the tank (get someone to crank it)?
 

patskies

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
34
Location
townsville
Members Ride
VT SS LS1 (vz monaro themed)
im not at the car at the moment. im waiting for someone to pick me up and take me there. im not sure if there is no spark or not.

man plan basically is...

if the fuel pump isnt turning on im goin to bridge the wires on the oil pressure switch.. if it is working and there is no spark then im puttin the car on a trailer and taking it home and throwing a new crank angle sensor on it.
 

RX25SE

Real cars are steel cars.
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
MY07 Liberty 30R Spec B 6sp wagon
Sounds like a plan.


I change CAS every 100,000kms regardless to eliminate headaches.
 

Andrew426

Active Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,095
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Location
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Members Ride
VP calais, VR Berlina, VJ valiant, BG5 legacy
no the oil switch runs through the fuel pump, so no pumping fuel if no oil pressure.


Thats not right.

Fuel pump builds pressure before you even start the engine - its the whirring sound you hear when you turn the key to the 'run' position
 
Top