Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

replacing harmonic balancer. need bolt and torque help.

STEEV888

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
307
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
31
Location
central coast
Members Ride
'95 200sx.
i purchased a 25% under drive kit for my car so i will be replacing the harmonic balancer with this one hopefully on wednesday.
what my question is..
i heard when putting it back on.. you need to use the old bolt to tighten it.. then take it out and put in the new bolt and tighten it.
is this correct?
And to what torque specifications?
thanks!
 

db_notso

diagnostic technician...
Joined
Oct 2, 2010
Messages
979
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Age
34
Location
sunshine coast, qld
Members Ride
vt v6, mods(susp brakesetc...)
model
year
engine
give me this and ill give you some lovin~!
 

db_notso

diagnostic technician...
Joined
Oct 2, 2010
Messages
979
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Age
34
Location
sunshine coast, qld
Members Ride
vt v6, mods(susp brakesetc...)
crankshaft balancer bolt
stage 1 with new bolt -----------tighten too 50 nm
stage2---------------------tighten further 140degrees

stage1=step1
stage2=step2

you just need to make sure that when you fit it
you line it up straight
tap it on (kinda hard with a hammer)
until a sufficient amount of thread is there isndie of the crank too tighten it
then begin proccess
remeber it needs to be seated so that it all the ribs on the other pulleys line up straight

and i think you need a puller to get it off?
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
437
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
dont hit it on with a hammer its been know to result in dead oil pumps and no oil pressure use a longer threaded bolt to start it if need be
 

STEEV888

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2010
Messages
307
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
31
Location
central coast
Members Ride
'95 200sx.
yeah i got all the tools to get it off just didnt know the specs..
and 140 degrees as in nearly a half circle tighter ?
 

db_notso

diagnostic technician...
Joined
Oct 2, 2010
Messages
979
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Age
34
Location
sunshine coast, qld
Members Ride
vt v6, mods(susp brakesetc...)
yes and
as stated TAP IT ON TO START IT
so its straight or you'll gouge out the shaft with the pulley
you should be able to GENTLY tap it on far enough to start the bolt with enough thread to tighten it up
 

macca33

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
The 'gul, Vic.
Members Ride
VX Senator 300
Why tap it on, when a bolt that is 20mm longer than the crank bolt is all that is needed to start it and avoid stripping out crank threads, or doing some other damage??? Is that how they do them at Holden?

The guide I use states to torque the original bolt to 240ftlb, then break it free and insert the new bolt, which is torqued to 37ftlb, then tightened a further 140 degrees, to stretch it into the correct torque. I've only done around 15 of them but nothing has come loose yet.

cheers
 
Top