Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Replacing O2 Sensors on VT

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by EXCESSV, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. EXCESSV

    EXCESSV New Member

    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV
    Hi all,
    probably last post for the mighty VT as i pick up the new VXII R8 on saturday but before i hand my car over to my mum i wanted to change the oxygen sensors.
    i bought them before i decided to get a new car and thought i would put them on for mum.
    looked at my gregory's manual last night and it didnt say the best way to replace...only how to test them and there fault codes.

    do i need to get the front of the car jacked up and do them from under or can i do it from the top (engine bay)???
    also any special tools or things i need to do??

    help much appreciated

    Dean
     
  2. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,766
    Likes Received:
    220
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    Easier to access from under the car. Unplug the electrical connector ( you can reach them from the engine bay or from underneath ). Then you just unscrew the sensor as you would a spark plug. Instal the new ones and reconnect. To unplug the connectors you have to lift the tab a bit to unclip it. Look at the plug on you new sensors to see what I mean.
     
  3. WAGON MAN

    WAGON MAN Gas Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    North Coast , NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2 Berlina Wagon with Phreddied bits.
    Deano VX

    You will need to raise (jack up) the VT, disconnect negative teminal on the battery, from the o2 sensor disconnect the electrical connector from the wiring harness, unscrew the o2 sensor.
    Refit new o2 sensor and tighten securely, reconnect the electrical connector from the o2 sensor to the wiring harness, reconnect the negative terminal on the battery, lower the VT and test drive and then check to see if any codes have been logged.

    Hope this helps....
     
  4. EXCESSV

    EXCESSV New Member

    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV
    thanks guys....i was hoping not to jack the car up...mainly coz i cant be bothered but i will look at it on the weekend....my gregory manual says to bridge 5&6 to display codes..
    anyone done this and found it to work?
     
  5. Murdoch

    Murdoch Active Member

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Wagoon

    It works.
    It wont always log a stuffed o2 sensor, but hey that doesn't matter if your putting new ones in i guess.
     
  6. Trevor 062

    Trevor 062 Member

    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Location:
    St Clair
    Members Ride:
    2012 VE S2 SSV REDLINE & 07 VZ ACCLAIM WAGON
    Deano how much are the sensors actually worth to buy??
    Cheers Trevor
     
  7. WeaponWagon

    WeaponWagon New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    East Keilor, VIC
    Members Ride:
    VZ LX6 Adventra 2005
    $76 from Burson for NGK (Holden quoted me $180)
     
  8. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,766
    Likes Received:
    220
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    As Murdoch said the sensors don't always log a fault code when they aren't working properly. I wasn't getting fault codes fron mine but when I changed them I could really feel the difference so they obviously weren't working like they should. I paid $70 each from Auto-One.
     
  9. EXCESSV

    EXCESSV New Member

    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV
    yeah i dont really care if they log faults now...i wanna replace them because fuel economy sucks bad and it has 145000km and never changed.
    will check for fault codes after

    i paid $76 each (genuine) from holden here in perth.....but lets say its not what you know but who you know :whistling
     

Share This Page