Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Replacing VE Suspension Bushes at home

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by crew_man, Feb 4, 2016.

  1. crew_man

    crew_man Active Member

    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VFII SV6 Reserve Edition Sportwagon
    G'day guys,

    Have done some searching and havn't had any luck.

    I have the Nolathane Evocom6F kit (Nolathane EVOCOM6F Front Vehicle Enhancement Kit)

    which includes:
    -Strut top bushes
    -Radius Arm bushes
    - Rear control arm bushes

    Now i'm a pretty mechanically sound guy and do a heap of work to my motorbikes and have some experience with cars, but my question is more about how easy it would be to remove the old rubber bushes and replace them at home?

    Strut tops should be easy, but as I don't have a shop press will removing/installing the other bushes be an issue?

    I have got a quote from a local shop who quoted $300 for labour but I would like to do it myself as much as possible.

    Any information that you could provide would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Strut tops are easy, not sure about the radius arms, but you'll need a press for some of the rear end bushes.
     
  3. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    You can press in a lot of bushes with a vice and lube, but getting the original bushes out might be a different story without a press. How shagged are they?

    EDIT: Are the originals press in? All the ones in the picture look like they split in half which means you wouldn't need to press them in.
     
  4. crew_man

    crew_man Active Member

    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VFII SV6 Reserve Edition Sportwagon
    That's what I thought too. I'm mainly concerned with getting things out. Don't want to have it all disassembled only to find that I need to get it to a shop to finish the job
     
  5. monkey

    monkey Donating Member

    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Cut one flared end of the bush off then belt it out, or drill the **** outta it first but dont hit the sides.
     
  6. crew_man

    crew_man Active Member

    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VFII SV6 Reserve Edition Sportwagon
    Good point, it should be pretty easy to get them out.

    I will buy a decent sized clamp and some threaded rod & bolts to have on hand as a makeshift press in case I have an issue getting the new ones on
     
  7. MYVESSV8

    MYVESSV8 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane/GoldCoast
    Members Ride:
    VE 6LT M6
    bought a 12ton press from Radum in Brisbane for $100 (new) and have done heaps real easy
     
  8. SimoHDK

    SimoHDK New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2013 VE Commodore SV6 Z-Series - Manual

Share This Page