Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

resetting ecu

  • Thread starter thebathurstwinner
  • Start date
T

thebathurstwinner

Guest
do you reset your ecu when you add a kn filter and a 2.5 inch catback exhaust
 

walesy

Aint no family cruiser!!!
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
2,254
Reaction score
17
Points
38
Age
34
Location
Perth SOR
Members Ride
Cherry Black WH II Caprice, VS exec wagon
the filter would be flowing alot better and same deal with the exhaust so it wouldnt hurt to do it anyway
 

Spaced

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
671
Reaction score
17
Points
0
Members Ride
1997 VS Commodore Exec
anyone know how to reset the ecu in a VS?
 

walesy

Aint no family cruiser!!!
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
2,254
Reaction score
17
Points
38
Age
34
Location
Perth SOR
Members Ride
Cherry Black WH II Caprice, VS exec wagon
i cant really remember but i think you disconect the battery for about an hour, then re-conect. turn ur car on and hold it at 3000rpm for 7 seconds then it should have restet... anyone feel free to correct me if i got something wrong...

haha i just noticed u have an old quote of mine at the bottom of ur posts(under my old name)
 

Jamie_87

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
467
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
2003 BA XR6
for VS ecu , take out engine fuse from fuse box under bonnet for 30secs then replace. start car and hold revs @2000rpm for 20sec from what i've been told.
 

nasty1

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
1,739
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
vy2 clubsport
for VS ecu , take out engine fuse from fuse box under bonnet for 30secs then replace. start car and hold revs @2000rpm for 20sec from what i've been told.
not true i replaced mine and i never had to hold the revs up.

any ways i think its hold it above 3000 for 30 secs.
 

nasty1

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
1,739
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
vy2 clubsport
i think youl know when it needs reseting it probly wont idle properly etc.i tryd a 185i ecu in my old vs caprice it wouldnt run so swapped back.it started but kept dying.i held it at 3000 rpm for 30 secs and it was fine after that.
 
Top