Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Retro fit UC Torana with VT 304

Discussion in 'V8 Development and Modification' started by Rod Vermast, Dec 4, 2017.

  1. Rod Vermast

    Rod Vermast New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Members Ride:
    VR Senator
    Has anyone on this page Retro fitted a 304 VT into an early Holden? Looking at VT 304 and auto into UC torana mainly concerned with wiring issues! Does anyone know of some one that can help with wiring on the Sunshine Coast?
     
  2. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    Wiring's relatively easy. Just a matter of a few relays for fuel pump, ignition, power etc.

    Easiest to start with the 424 pcm and loom from a Vr-Vs v8 as the wiring is batchfire and much more simple, yet will still run your auto trans. You'll need to have a Memcal burnt to remove vats.

    The speedo will be the biggest obstacle. There are ways around it though - such as having your speedo modified to take the electronic signal.
     
  3. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,357
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    Use hq mount brackets on the engine it sits it back further than commodore mounts leaves more room up front for a radiator and fan
     
  4. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Would it be possible to fit an older electronic dizzy and ancillaries and run it without a PCM? Then instead of auto run a manual. I know this can be done on boats that run EL series Ford V8 Engines, thought maybe the same could apply in a car.
     
  5. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    Yes just run the 808 ecu for the injection. The th700r4 from VN to VP is cable operated and doesn't require pcm/ecu input.
     

Share This Page