Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

304 Retrofitting the Quadrajet on a VR V8

Discussion in 'V8 Development and Modification' started by The Enforcer, May 8, 2020.

  1. The Enforcer

    The Enforcer New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Albany WA
    Members Ride:
    VL 5L
    Orright - I am bettin there will be some miffed EFI fans - this is not to discuss the politics of this.

    Easy enough to get is the new dual plane spreadbore manifold and a new old stock Quadrajet

    I am interested in fuel pressure regulation and the overview of the ECU - would retain that for spark curve management - and maybe some ideas of reprogramming it so it could just keep spark management under control?

    are there other things to look out for - (auto box control?)


    Chur :)
     
  2. Deuce

    Deuce Super Stock

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Meremere Dragway (as often as possible)
    Members Ride:
    '94 VR SS V8
    By going carb, you will lose: IAC, TPS, MAP, IAT. You could tap the front of the manifold for coolant temp to ecu (if hole isn't pre existing).
    Honestly you are cutting out too much that the ecu will have no idea what spark to command (it'll probably stay 10deg everywhere) and get very confused with the trans and when to shift.

    If you were dead set on carb, then you need to chat to someone who is Very good with the delco ecu as they might be able to do something, or get a stand alone trans controller and spark only ecu (msd 6al? I dunno, I don't really carb)
     
    The Enforcer likes this.
  3. The Enforcer

    The Enforcer New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Albany WA
    Members Ride:
    VL 5L
    Surely MAP wouldn’t be hard to retain - could port MAP sensor to rear carb vacuum line (straight manifold line) - will check re manifold... (Harrop dual plane 99-MFD) which has 3 holes to front coolant channel (I reckon that’s where sensors and or those thermal vacuum switches would go)

    TPS... hadn’t thought of, though should be doable (the Carby GQ patrol autos had an interesting TPS setup for auto)

    aren’t familiar with IAC or IAT -

    I’m fairly sure these are mafless - well I didn’t see a maf sensor.

    but this is the good insights I look for in forums like this one
     
  4. Deuce

    Deuce Super Stock

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Meremere Dragway (as often as possible)
    Members Ride:
    '94 VR SS V8
    Yes they are mafless - map does all this work.
    Silly me, yes you can plumb map as suggested.
    Yes 3 holes on front of mani for:
    Dash temp gauge
    Ecu temperature input
    Water bypass for water pump (5inch 90deg hose)
     
  5. Deuce

    Deuce Super Stock

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Meremere Dragway (as often as possible)
    Members Ride:
    '94 VR SS V8
    IAT - intake air temp.
    Manifold might have a port for this on #5 runner.

    IAC - intake air control.
    You obviously won't need this, but it may keep throwing fault codes.

    Have you checked if this is all legal where you live? Or are your intentions for off road only?
     
    The Enforcer likes this.
  6. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,980
    Likes Received:
    427
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    Use every sensor just don't use the Injector wires. Plug a tps in and tape it into the loom so it sees one but trips a tps error then you will get spark control instead of being locked on the idle spark table. unless you want to buy a bracket to fit gm tps they do make kits for holleys etc for a tps to be bolted on. It pretty much turns the ecu into a high end programmable ignition box
     
    The Enforcer likes this.
  7. The Enforcer

    The Enforcer New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Albany WA
    Members Ride:
    VL 5L
    it seems youre handle is appropriate... some mates here said, check this forum, that forum etc... they pointed to pcmhacking forum - which youre on...

    over time i would like to het it where the CEL wont nag.

    am looking at throttle cable setups atm... have cruise control module to consider in that setup as well.
     
  8. immortality

    immortality Can't live without smoky bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,178
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    Fault codes can be disabled where required for items that are no longer functional.
     
  9. Deuce

    Deuce Super Stock

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Meremere Dragway (as often as possible)
    Members Ride:
    '94 VR SS V8
    Is that worth trying on my TPS over voltage issue?
     
  10. The Enforcer

    The Enforcer New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Albany WA
    Members Ride:
    VL 5L
    I think TPS is important for gearbox control....

    In a factory carby GQ 4.2 patrol it certaihly is.

    i do want to make it functional in my case
     
  11. immortality

    immortality Can't live without smoky bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,178
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    No we need to get that right. Just turning off the CEL when it occurs doesn't really solve the problem.
     
  12. Deuce

    Deuce Super Stock

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Meremere Dragway (as often as possible)
    Members Ride:
    '94 VR SS V8
    It's throwing a fault light, going limp mode, but if you manually select a gear it seems to hold on fine. I was just thinking of preventing limp mode because of TPS and all else runs as usual we would be fine.
    Oh well.
     
  13. The Enforcer

    The Enforcer New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Albany WA
    Members Ride:
    VL 5L
    What is the lowdown on the TPS - is it a potentiometer, switch or rotary encoder?
     
  14. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,980
    Likes Received:
    427
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    Potentiometer
     
  15. The Enforcer

    The Enforcer New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Albany WA
    Members Ride:
    VL 5L
    Bewdy... can swap supply and ground over, leaving wiper to input, to reverse direction...

    atm working on a concept for throttle cable/cruise cont/TPS - which TPS rolls backwards (more complex to mount from choke side as it sees throttle roll on)
     
  16. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,980
    Likes Received:
    427
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    Ecotec turns the opposite direction to buick and 304 if you need a sensor to rotate the other direction
     

Share This Page