Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Revs up then down erratically then stalls

MickT

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VY SS
Hey, i have been having a little problem with my VP. One second its running great, then when i start it up again after ive driven it the idle/revs rise then drops n rise and drop erratically then when i put it in drive it stalls.Then i start it again and can drive away. Under load its fine. Changed injector seal, injectors are also good. The Throttle position sensor is new. Checked the coil packs and there good. Ive checked the car for codes and nothing comes up.
Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.
 

camstatic

I'm back babeh.
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
327
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Regional SA
Members Ride
VZ SS
Check the MAP sensor, if that checks out, perhaps try cleaning out your IAC valve?
 

Pub247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
57
Points
48
Location
Melbourne S.E.
Members Ride
Ford Fairmont
try cleaning the tb and iac valve on the tb might help
 

MickT

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VY SS
I have also cleaned the tb and checked the iac valve forgot to mention that, ill give the map sensor a try next. Thanks guys.
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
433
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
when you cleaned the throttle body did you by any chance let any carby cleaner dribble down the shaft into the TPS they dont like that.
 

MickT

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VY SS
Nah, i cleaned the TB first then put on a new TPS. Could the fuel system cause such a problem?
 

camstatic

I'm back babeh.
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
327
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Regional SA
Members Ride
VZ SS
I'm guessing the fuel pressure regulator could need looking at, for such a simple unit they're not cheap at all though. I paid cost for mine and it was still just over 80 bucks.
 

DrJeckyl

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
73
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
VN commodore S1 & VXII Berlina LS1
Might be way off target but my VN was doing a similar thing.

The rubber fuel lines inside the tank had perished, which didnt allow fuel to return to the little bowl inside the tank the fuel pump sits in.

changed the tank over been running fine since.
 

holden-4-life

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
322
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Location
QLD
Members Ride
VR Equipe II
Might be way off target but my VN was doing a similar thing.

The rubber fuel lines inside the tank had perished, which didnt allow fuel to return to the little bowl inside the tank the fuel pump sits in.

changed the tank over been running fine since.
see thats whats crap

computers cant tell u that stuff, something little but very annoying
 
Top