Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register
Reaction score
Members Ride
Holden VT 3.8
Hi i have almost had it with my car I replace one thing and find another problem
Im no mechanic this is first car ive worked on
So it started with a blown head gasket bought a vrs kit replace all the gaskets in the top end of the engine
Got a mechanic to do a engine flush
Put on new oil filter
i serviced the injectors
replaced the spark plugs and leads
Got a new starter motor
Bought a coil pack to check all the coil packs got zapped. They were all fine.
Then after all this, the engine had a squeak when it was running so replaced the water pump.
This caused the radiator to split one of its plastic outlets.
So replaced the radiator. ran the car for half a day and it split the heater tap hose.
so thought stuff this ill buy every hose and replace them
by now i am at the point of where i have put to much work into it to sell it
Went to put on the new hoses just to shatter the brittle heater tap bought that replaced it
just ordered 2 oxygen sensors hope they come tomorrow

So this is what i have done so far,
it runs really good when it is driving but idling shakes the car and when i put it in drive to get going there is a slight pause before acceleration this is only after starting it.
It starts on first turn over
i can also here the engine tapping
Any ideas?

jeepyrocks

Reaction score
Members Ride
BMW 535D, VR V6 Ute
has the throttle body been cleaned out? Check that first. A filthy EGR and IAC (both connected to the throttle body) will cause idle issues. I'd also check the engine mounts - if they have slumped on to the subframe she will feel rough as guts.
Be happy its a VT V6 - one of the easiest motors to learn and work on.

SavVYute

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY S V6 Ute Series II 2004