Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Rough Idle

MissKaos

Reaction score
Members Ride
2000 Vx Commodore V6
Hey. I'm a bit of a noob on here :p
I have a 2003 VY. Having major issues with it running rough as guts. When it sits idling, the revs fluctuate between 500rpm and 1000rpm and the car shakes badly. To the point it feels like it's going to stall, also does it when I reverse. And feels like it has a flat spot when driving down the freeway.

I have replaced spark plugs, leads, Oil, oil filter, fuel filter, air filter, ran 2 fuel injector cleaners and have taken the MAF off and cleaned it with CRC MAF cleaner.

I am at a loss at what else to do :(

PlenumBiscuit

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Commodore
maybe got an air leak in your vaccum hoses, theres about 4 of them around the throttle body, for peace of mind replace all of them clamp them up super tight, check that the hoses are even on, especially drivers side at the back of rocker cover, theres a gadget there with 2 vaccum hoses

theres an IAC idle air controller on back of throttle body too, unscrew it, clean all the gunk off, or just replace the whole thing

prob even better to clean all gunk out of the whole TB

Last edited:

henstepper

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY commodore Executive s2
Bad fuel pump, engine mounts, but more likely bad fuel pump

Comcal76

Reaction score
Members Ride
VP v6
Check air intake tube after MAF and before throttle body for splits, get a scan done it's cheap.

MissKaos

Reaction score
Members Ride
2000 Vx Commodore V6
maybe got an air leak in your vaccum hoses, theres about 4 of them around the throttle body, for peace of mind replace all of them clamp them up super tight, check that the hoses are even on, especially drivers side at the back of rocker cover, theres a gadget there with 2 vaccum hoses