Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Second gear flaring on change

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by daves8, May 8, 2019.

  1. daves8

    daves8 Active Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V 6.0
    Think my box is on the way out, the revs flare changing from 1st to 2nd under light load (is ok under heavy throttle)

    Given my car is tuned, is it fair to say Holden will say tough luck and not cover under warranty?
     
  2. 07GTS

    07GTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VEGTS BLOWN E85
    if its tuned then get the tuner to look at it as all that can be adjusted, if its fine under heavy load then it should be fixable, if it was failing it would be worse under more load
     
    BlaserF3 likes this.
  3. snortings

    snortings Active Member

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    MY15 SV6
    If all goes to bad, put the original tune back on it (if the tuner still has it) and then go to Holden. Not sure if they can tell the difference or not, I don't know much about tuning.
     
  4. PeteSS

    PeteSS Active Member

    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Series 2 SSV Redline
    Mine's been doing that from day 1. Sometimes does it from 2nd to 3rd as well. Only under light load. The retards at the dealership say there's nothing wrong.

    Dave, check the fluid level. I know it's not easy to check on these things...
     
  5. Smashfist

    Smashfist Active Member

    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    219
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    SE QLD
    Members Ride:
    440rwhp Cammed VF Ute
    Sure can. When the tune is modified it flips some bits in the ECM, unless you reprogram it with TIS2WEB you can see. GM have a whole section in "how to spot modifications to the tune" under dealer bulletins these days.
     
    snortings likes this.
  6. SS Flo Rida

    SS Flo Rida Active Member

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    219
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VF Series II SS W375
    Mine does as well when I decrease throttle when it goes into shift mode just before an upshift into 3rd. Did it almost from day dot. It had a fair bit of trans tuning done. Sounds like yours is doing the same possibly. Ive had a camaro deep pan and pick up installed made no difference. 3700 rpm stall and external cooler. No difference either. Last trans service i had them add an extra 250 ml of dex and it’d definately less frequent but still occurs sometimes. Seems to be related to tps and shift parameters but I wouldnt stress about the trans being stuffed its not uncommon in the trans
     

Share This Page