Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Series 2 Headunit upgrade

Bosscoe

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VT Calais
Hey guys,

I'm in need of a little help please. I want to upgrade the headunit on my 08 VE Calais, I believe I have a series 2 due to the dual zone headunit. I've read on forums and google, but I keep coming up with series 1 to series 2 conversions (not what I'm after). So is there anything out there like this https://automotivesuperstore.com.au...MIrKel2tGi5AIVwoBwCh3W7w1JEAQYBCABEgL0pvD_BwE available for me? Last time I checked this part wasn't available for dual zone hence why a seller on FB was selling it. What are my other options? Will I have to go somewhere like alpine etc...to have a new headunit installed? more options the better.

Cheers guys.
 

Fu Manchu

Septic Tank Pump Operator
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
10,180
Reaction score
8,556
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
All the series one components can be retro fitted to a series 2.
Then fit the series one options. We still have to wait for a dual zone HVAC controller from Aeropro.

In the S2 Calais, the available options mean retro fitting lower spec components and the end result isn't great.

I think the S1 Calais dash layout is a bit simpler and classier in styling.

Once you have done the series one conversion, you can use the Alpine touchscreen HVAC controller and match to a huge array of options for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay headunits.

I can try make a list of parts to find to do the swap.


The S1
calais-v-sportwagon-review-5-big.jpg
 

Bosscoe

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VT Calais
Ouch,
So I have to downgrade in order to upgrade my headunit fmd holden.
By "end result isn't great." what do you mean by that sorry?
A parts list would be great yes please.
What I really want to do is throw in a double din headunit for now, than upgrade later on down the line.
I'd prefer to have Alpine or Rockford run my sound system rather than an ipad/android.
 

lmoengnr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
4,936
Reaction score
16,556
Points
113
Location
Sunbury Vic.
Members Ride
MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
Does your Calais have an IQ fitted currently?
 

Fu Manchu

Septic Tank Pump Operator
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
10,180
Reaction score
8,556
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
So not great means having the top panel (in series 2 form) as a slightly different black plastic (almost shiny) finish. It means having two round air vents and the whole look isn’t as nice as the Calais finish.

I have all the parts in the garage, so can get some part numbers and photos on Friday.
 

Bosscoe

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VT Calais
No IQ fitted on my VE unfortunately.
I see what you mean now about the looks. This keeps getting depressing the more I look into it.
Nah no drama's looking for part numbers buddy, I'll figure something out :/
 

Asmodai78

Active Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
397
Reaction score
66
Points
28
Location
Vic
Members Ride
VE Calais V Sportwagon
This is my KAYHAN install into a S2 CalaisV, I went to the wrecker and got a second air vent and trimmed the bottom part to fit.
 

Attachments

  • DDCBA2D7-2F39-4420-801E-EE96E4B9C76A.jpeg
    DDCBA2D7-2F39-4420-801E-EE96E4B9C76A.jpeg
    107 KB · Views: 382

Fu Manchu

Septic Tank Pump Operator
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
10,180
Reaction score
8,556
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
No IQ fitted on my VE unfortunately.
I see what you mean now about the looks. This keeps getting depressing the more I look into it.
Nah no drama's looking for part numbers buddy, I'll figure something out :/
If you don't have the IQ headunit then you have the a series 1.

Dual zone climate control is a feature found on both series 1 and 2.

The photo I posted is series 1.
Series 2 has the headunit screen up higher.

At present, the Alpine HVAC control module is the only real option for installing an after market head unit into a VE with dual zone unless you use the Kayhan unit.
 

KHOLDEN

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2019
Messages
35
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Location
Ashhurst
Members Ride
VE S2 SSV Redline ute
08 VE Calais will be a series 1, series 2 are after 2010
 

Bosscoe

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VT Calais
Ok so I got a series 1 dz, and the Aeropro kit is a no go. Damn the Alpine HVAC control module looks ugly. Is it possible to get a double din of my own choosing professionally installed or am I out of luck on that as well?
 
Top