Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Should I use Oztrack?

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by elite675, Dec 6, 2016.

  1. elite675

    elite675 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    SS VE
    Hi all,

    New to the forum and have been looking at the performance packages offered by Oztrack.. I've searched and there a mixed reviews on this company. Some say they are great and some say to stay away as they do not use dyno to tune... If they do not use a dyno, how do they tune it properly?
     
  2. kiwicon

    kiwicon Active Member

    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    VS V8 Manual
    generic tune would be my guess..
     
  3. markalan1two

    markalan1two Smile and wave boys !!!!

    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    198
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    X3 3.0 BMW, GenF2 GTS, Corolla ZR, Audi S3 Cab
    http://www.dickselectronics.com/news.php
    have a read about half way down the page that should answer you question


    Maybe call some MECHANICAL workshops like Russo Performance, Sam's Performance, Castle Hill Performance i'm sure any of them could help
     
  4. monstar

    monstar Naturally as-pirated

    Messages:
    2,478
    Likes Received:
    1,657
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Location:
    depths of Hays Inlet
    Members Ride:
    Peugeot 207 GTi
    Steve is very good, and no you don't need a dyno to tune an e38 outside power enrichment. So if you are looking for a flat out race machine, you have to pay to play on the dyno.
    To improve your daily driving car's performance a remote tune is an excellent first step.
    Next step is to get a wideband installed, don't get suckered into dyno time coz racecar.
     
  5. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    6,707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    You do logs and send them to him.
    He does a retune and sends it to you flash tune do new log till tune done. (may take a few logs and retune till done)
    Mine tune is good 95/98/E85 flex fuel. (2 tunes included) for one price.
    1 tune 95/98 same tune for both I was running 95.
    1 tune E85 running full tank of E85.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2016
    monstar likes this.
  6. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    493
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    I have just started the process with Steve this evening.
    I bought the Flashcan V2 and VCM OTR.
    I got the Flashscan set up and saved my stock tune and sent it to Steve. He will send me back an update and we will go back and forth until I am happy with the way the car performs.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  7. monstar

    monstar Naturally as-pirated

    Messages:
    2,478
    Likes Received:
    1,657
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Location:
    depths of Hays Inlet
    Members Ride:
    Peugeot 207 GTi
    Did you install the wideband you were looking at? V2 and WB02 serial will speed things up, literally.
     
  8. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    6,707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    Kept my stock tune as well.
    Where are you going to do your logs?
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  9. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    6,707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    Bit off topic.
    Had a remote done on the VS then when to The1 home and he tuned the VS as we drove around for an hour.
     
  10. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    493
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    I have got the AEM 30-0300 but not installed yet. I wasn't planning on doing the tune this quickly but Oztrack will be closed over Christmas while I am on annual leave. I will have to see if I can get the bung installed and start using the WBO2 for the logs. I might even wait, but I am an impatient bastard

    I will be doing the logs around town where I live, no need to be doing flat chat runs as that is not how I will drive it day in day out
     
    VS_Pete and monstar like this.

Share This Page