Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Spark plug replacement

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by VEdriver59, Apr 18, 2018.

  1. VEdriver59

    VEdriver59 Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE, 09 of 2008, Omega, Auto, 3.6 Litre, 6 Cylinder
    My VE has done about 120,000k and using a heap of fuel so I'm looking at replacing the plugs in the hope that this will fix the issue.

    One Sunday a while back I started out with a half a tank to get from Joondalup in Perth to City Beach a distance of about 50-60ks at most. I got where I was going and then started home again but realised there was near zero fuel in the tank and I very nearly run out of fuel before could get to the nearest petrol shop. Its this event that alerted me to how much fuel I am using. I'm unemployed these days so I only do short journeys around our end of town now so a tank of fuel lasts quite a while.

    I've read one of the causes of excessive fuel use may be the plugs. I have cleaned the MAF but I either may not have done it right or I may have touched the wrong part because cleaning it has not made any difference to fuel consumption. I've also replaced the air cleaner filter thinking that may have something to do with it. I dunno when the plugs were replaced last as I brought the car about 4-5 years ago at an auction. It was a govt car and had 105ks on the clock. there no maintenance records that went with the car.

    The more I read about changing the plugs the more involved it seems to be. I'm reading that not only should I replace the plugs but also the leads and also the Ignition Coils. Is this right?

    All contributions appreciated
    thanks
     
  2. Brisbarnz

    Brisbarnz Active Member

    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    Vh sle
    If v6, coils are on top of sparkplugs so no leads required. Intake needs to be lifted. Done my plugs first time on weekend was only a 2 hour job and I was taking my sweet ass time.
     
  3. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Coils are expensive and only need replacing when they fail. You will know because idle becomes very rough and lumpy.
    Plugs are a good idea as the fleet company probably dodged the 100k service when they should have changed the plugs.
    There are plenty of good how to's online to look at before you do it. Autoinstruct has 1 of them.
    There are some good deals on eBay for genuine plugs and service kits for Alloytecs
     
  4. zoenryan

    zoenryan Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Location:
    Hurstbridge Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV G8 , VZ Wagon V6, VE Saloon V6 LPG, VX V6
    always worth changing the plugs, but be real careful taking the coils off, as they can stick like crazy and pull apart if not careful. I also use dielectric grease when re-assembling - but not sure if this makes the sticking better or worse..
     
  5. davekell

    davekell New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Location:
    goulburn
    Members Ride:
    2010 calais ve sportswagon
    If you have a plug wrench with a uni joint you dont have to remove manifold. Only the back plugs hard to access. If you have worked on bikes this is an easy job.
     
    Dayvo, lmoengnr and commy vk like this.
  6. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Stop talking rubbish the coils can't be removed unless you lift the upper manifold on the early Alloytec V6s. On some of the later SIDIs the manifold shape is different and it can be done without lifting the manifold.
     
    VTS5 likes this.
  7. VEdriver59

    VEdriver59 Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE, 09 of 2008, Omega, Auto, 3.6 Litre, 6 Cylinder
    thanks for that mate, I need that kind of info too as I aint no mechanic
     
  8. VEdriver59

    VEdriver59 Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE, 09 of 2008, Omega, Auto, 3.6 Litre, 6 Cylinder
    Thanks mate my ve was built in 09 of 2008 so does that make it Alloytec? I am picking up that NGK are the right plugs for it, is that right?
     
  9. VEdriver59

    VEdriver59 Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE, 09 of 2008, Omega, Auto, 3.6 Litre, 6 Cylinder
    Thanks for that tip on the coils its something I did not know.
     
  10. VEdriver59

    VEdriver59 Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE, 09 of 2008, Omega, Auto, 3.6 Litre, 6 Cylinder
    Thanks for that, I thought the the manifold had to come off. I suppose that would mean that I also need a tension wrench with a uni joint too?
     
  11. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    dont forget fill your tank drive until shows low, then refill
    measure how many km to how many litres
    ve fuel gauge is more reliable than earlier years but not infallible
    a faulty tps or coolant sensor could also account for excessive fuel
     
  12. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Unless it says SIDI on the back if the car somewhere.
    Have a play and see if you can wriggle the front 3 coils out from under the manifold, I doubt you'll have any joy though.
    The genuine plugs are good and often cheaper than the local parts store.
     

Share This Page