Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Stall Converters!?!?!-

nvs_sle

Selling 20's and Stereo
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
71
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Statesman Caprice
Hey all,
thinking of getting a stally for my s/le
i got a 5ltr going through the auto and into an lsd, just wondering whats size is best for driverbility and a bitta fun :p any help appreciated!
thanks
oh, and what is the average price on a stally, im also getting a stage 2 shift kit soon, if that helps at all
 

craigvk

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
1,981
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Members Ride
VK 5L Calais
Is your car worth adding one? Has the motor had any performance modifications?

Speak to Autoflite about what you want http://www.dominatorconverter.com.au/default.htm

You'd be looking at hundreds. As for driveability, you'll be looking at spinning the rear wheels in the wet at every intersection. I wouldn't go higher than 2000-2500 rpm unless you know what you are doing.
 

GreenGremlin

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
464
Reaction score
14
Points
18
Location
Melbourne
Website
www.brockcommodores.com
Members Ride
VK Calais
2500rpm i find good on the street, i'm running a TCE in a trimatic. unless your going to put a cam in it, leave it standard, they both need to be considered at the same time.
 

Clutchy

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
849
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Wild west of Melb
Members Ride
vz wagon
Ya rite there Cane_it the cam is a good thing to work off wif a stall.
My old VK had a 3500 stall and that was fun
Slim can ya tell me why ya will be spinning the wheels at every intesection in the wet ?
 

craigvk

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
1,981
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Members Ride
VK 5L Calais
Clutchy said:
Slim can ya tell me why ya will be spinning the wheels at every intesection in the wet ?
Because you need a certain rpm until your torque converter kicks in.
 

Clutchy

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
849
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Wild west of Melb
Members Ride
vz wagon
Slim said:
Because you need a certain rpm until your torque converter kicks in.
Umm nope ya can just take off normal unless ya had ya foot on the brake then thats a different story.
 

A-TEAM AUTOMOTIVE

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VK Calais 3.3 efi
hey how does that actually stally work. dnt u jus hold the break n gradually gain more n more rpm n let it go ??? :S
 

craigvk

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
1,981
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Members Ride
VK 5L Calais
A high stall converter needs a certain rpm before the transmission engages.
 

308vkcalais

DIO..
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
216
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Adelaide(City of Godbothers)Churches S.A.
Members Ride
308 VK Calais, VK EFI Berlina, V6 VN & Kenworth...
Your normal Trimatic Torque Converters are rated at 1900RPM.I'd strengthen up yor trans 1st.Sum new Corvette Servo Pistons, Springs & clutch plate wouldn't go astray to begin with...
 

Clutchy

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
849
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Wild west of Melb
Members Ride
vz wagon
All ya stall will do the rev rating of it say being 3500 like mine was it wasent locked untill ya hit thoes revs in ya car and ya could hold it on the line with ya brakes up till thoes revs if ya wanted to but ya can take off normal and at low revs.
 
Top