Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Start issues driving me jnsane

5lvs

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
south coast, NSW
Members Ride
vs II 5L
Hey guys. I'm going to try and be as detailed as possible. And trust me guys I have read and read on here i know these issues are common. But I can't find answers.


So it all started with a miss that was there when ac was on and when car got hot. Also the chains where making some noise. So I took on the infamous timing chain replacement it took 3 weeks of cursing and waiting for more and more parts/tools. But I finally got it all back together expecting to fire it up and drive away. This was not the case I was plagued with fuel gauge error SVS warning and trac / power train. Leaving me in a no start state I tried multiple things before coming to the conclusion some how I must of fried the ecu. So I bought a matching set of computers. Changed out. To find I still can't start. I now have low fuel. Service vehicle soon. And the abs light. So a completely different set of issues. Can someone please lead me in the right direction here. Do i need the pim programmed or do i have another issue somewhere. I'm about ready to set her alight and enjoy some beers around the fire. Please help
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
4,093
Reaction score
1,924
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
It is entirely possible that the computer set you got could have issues.

Make sure there is no residual power in the car.

I remove the negative terminal.
Doors open
Headlights on.
Give the horn a toot with no power
Switch ignition on and do a dead start.
*all with no battery connected.

Then disconnect the ECM, PIM, BCM, swap key head, install the new computers.

Make sure your ECM came from the correct VZ motor. LE0 or LY7 will be different.
Make sure the BCM has matching trim level code on the front.



Then switch off everything. Reconnect the negative terminal.
 

gungazza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,526
Reaction score
106
Points
63
Age
64
Location
west suburbs
Members Ride
executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
check all wiring conections
 

5lvs

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
south coast, NSW
Members Ride
vs II 5L
It is entirely possible that the computer set you got could have issues.

Make sure there is no residual power in the car.

I remove the negative terminal.
Doors open
Headlights on.
Give the horn a toot with no power
Switch ignition on and do a dead start.
*all with no battery connected.

Then disconnect the ECM, PIM, BCM, swap key head, install the new computers.

Make sure your ECM came from the correct VZ motor. LE0 or LY7 will be different.
Make sure the BCM has matching trim level code on the front.



Then switch off everything. Reconnect the negative terminal.

Hey the bloke that sold them told me they where the same . Now I'm questioning this. My ecu no. 92175385. And the new one is 92179449. I was told it came from a calais. I was under the assumption calais where 190's. Am I wrong and if so should I find another set or can this still be used somehow
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
4,093
Reaction score
1,924
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Hey the bloke that sold them told me they where the same . Now I'm questioning this. My ecu no. 92175385. And the new one is 92179449. I was told it came from a calais. I was under the assumption calais where 190's. Am I wrong and if so should I find another set or can this still be used somehow
They were a Calais.
The trim level will be totally different to the BCM you need.
SV6 should say Mid.

You will need one from an SV6.

This might be why you are having the warnings appear. Calais had more airbags and now the system can’t find them.
 

5lvs

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
south coast, NSW
Members Ride
vs II 5L
They were a Calais.
The trim level will be totally different to the BCM you need.
SV6 should say Mid.

You will need one from an SV6.

This might be why you are having the warnings appear. Calais had more airbags and now the system can’t find them.
The BCM is a 588 mid. Same as what was in it
 

5lvs

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
south coast, NSW
Members Ride
vs II 5L
Pim was different. Changed from 411 to a 030. So the 9449 is still a 190
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
4,093
Reaction score
1,924
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Then you don’t have something from a Calais which would be a “high” BCM.

I’d maybe suggest trying another set.

The only way you could validate if the computers you have now match, is to plug in a Tech2 device and see what each has flashed to them. Ie VIN and airbags.
 

5lvs

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
south coast, NSW
Members Ride
vs II 5L
Yep gonna have to bite the bullet and get someone out I think. I'm thinking it's from a sv6. Possibly already having an ecu swap with a calais ecu ? Who knows in 15 years the bit that has me is both ecu displaying the low fuel issue. Something just keeps telling me I've stuffed up somewhere when doing the chains. But I can't for the life of me figure it out. I've pulled it all apart again checked every plug and wire cleaned everything. Swapped relays exc. Will these things not kick over if there is a dead fuel sender ? It cranks when start relay shorted. It won't fire though and will not crank by key. Even after U short and replace relay
 
Top