Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

strange stalling then kept going

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by losh1971, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    285
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Look at pin 1 closest to radiator. Any carbon or crap? Female pins to male pins tight?
    Also make sure where it bolts onto engine is clean. No rust or crap. Also coils to dfi.
     
    losh1971 likes this.
  2. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    285
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Are those Gorst coils with a dfi?
     
  3. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,131
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    No, Delphi DFI is another 85-90 bucks and bought from eBay Aust. Coils are from another site.
     
  4. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    285
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Losh, for me, the wiring was stuffed which stuffed the dfi & coils.
    If you have a stuffed dfi, buying new coils won't fix your problem.
     
  5. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,131
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    No I plan to replace the DFI and coils as well as plugs, it may just now be sooner than I thought. I have booked it in to the mech as I have a few things that need a diagnosis for. The plug is one, the miss is another and I am wondering if my FPR is on it's way out. I have heard that a faulty plug can take out a working DFI. So I therefore think it might be best to have it checked by someone who knows a bit more than I do and get the plug and harness right before I risk damaging new parts.
     
  6. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    628
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Could be worth unplugging and just having a look at all the other sensor plugs too.
    My VE had a few hiccups at idle too. One of the culprits was a heap of green corrosion on one of the pins in the MAF plug! I sure wasn't expecting that and just found it by accident.
     
  7. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,221
    Likes Received:
    6,346
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    My plug`s bolt snapped off and left a bit.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Is the VS DFI plug the same as the VR?
     
  8. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    yeah... might be different color wires but they all(pre VZ) use the same dfi and coil packs
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2019
    VS_Pete likes this.
  9. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    Losh always keep a spare dfi module and coil pack handy...just grab a set from the wreckers they are normally 40 to60$....
    if you see a set without numbers on the coils grab them, as they prob have been replaced at some time and be newer....or get a low K set (from a VS VT VX VY)only takes a few min to swap out and its one Item you can remove from the electrical gremlins list when diagnosing an issue....
     
    VS_Pete and losh1971 like this.
  10. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    285
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    This is what l have done. (a spare dfi & coil packs from wreckers $50.00. A 13mm & 7mm socket is all that is needed).
    Saved my ar#e a couple times.
     
    VS_Pete and losh1971 like this.
  11. Whiteshark68

    Whiteshark68 Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VY Berlina Series II
    i have a question about this because i was told that the buick engines used a different dfi to the ecotech engines
    the reason i ask is when i owned my vn i had a dfi go and it had a different one to the series one vn and then with my vp calais i had a miss that no one could diagnose found out it was the dfi and had to replace with a buick dfi module or at least that it was it was classified as
     
  12. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    all the same bar series1 vn..... Is what Ive been told :)
     
  13. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,131
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Does the main plug on the DFI harness commonly fail on these? Getting mine checked out but would be good to know if I need to save up for an auto electrician to repair the harness if my issue is not the DFI.

    Anyone know if this part number will fit a VR? I believe it is off a VS. There is only one available for sale in Australia from a search on the Net #92143911. Unless I could get one from Rockauto but I would need to know what Buick vehicle uses the same harness and plug in the States as Aust before I could have a search on their site.
     
  14. Tonner Matt

    Tonner Matt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Location:
    Darwin
    Members Ride:
    VZ 1 Tonner LS1 M6
    The dfi module plugs are available aftermarket
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-Con...itm=121297601536&_trksid=p2047675.c100623.m-1
     
    lwessel and losh1971 like this.
  15. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,131
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Thanks Matt for the link, I could only find one on eBay and that was the VS one that probably may not have even fitted. Probably helps when you know what name to put in the search bar.
     
  16. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,847
    Likes Received:
    320
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    Vn to vy all the same plug
     
    losh1971 likes this.
  17. lwessel

    lwessel Active Member

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Location:
    sydney
    Members Ride:
    VR Statesman sII 5ltr 1995 & VE SS V8 Commodore
    Umm my plug is different than quoted above vr 5ltr 1995 sedan even after i put my car details in on other connection This is my connection #2 pic
     

    Attached Files:

  18. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,847
    Likes Received:
    320
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    5L is totally different and hard to find
     
    lwessel likes this.
  19. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,131
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    I assumed you too had a V6
     
    lwessel likes this.
  20. Tonner Matt

    Tonner Matt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Location:
    Darwin
    Members Ride:
    VZ 1 Tonner LS1 M6
    It's different to the plug on your 5 litre ? ? ? ? ? ?
    The OP's vehicle is a V6, and the link I provided above was for a connector to suit a V6
     
    lwessel likes this.

Share This Page