Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

stroking 304 :P

king_rick

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT 5.0L Berlina wagon
Hi all looking at stroking the 304 to 355 in my vt berlina wagon, after a bit more power really for bragging rights lol don't really care about 1/4 mile times or that **** just a smicked up wags.
I'm no expert with engines or mods so probs will get help to build it. Would I be better off building my current engine or would it be worth while buying the stroker complete? Also what else is needed to cope with the added power trans, diff, computer etc. Thanks in advance guys, my current engine is the roller cam 304 with 209,000kms on the clock with a T350 trans I think. Not looking at doing the switch anytime soon but has always been on my mind.

wraith

Hand over the dog bikkies
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX V6 Berlina. 2003 VW Passat
Search and you shall find. Although it seems to be far better to get a pre made stroker from Pavtek. Personally for the cost I would strap a blower on your current motor assuming it's in good nick.

Deuce

Super Stock
Reaction score
Members Ride
'94 VR SS V8
1st, your stock trans is a 4L60E, later models got 4L65E and 4L80E I think. Your's may also be known as a T700-R4 I think, but that might be an early version that is slightly different, not sure.
T350 is an older trans, non electronic and I think it's only a 3speed.

if you only want HP figures on a dyno sheet so you can brag, it may be cheaper to chuck a big cam in there, big intake, decent exhaust and some laughing gas.

A good stroker would be a lot easier to live with day to day though. I agree with Wraith, get a purpose built crate motor (ie pavtek) and just swap them over.

bigstu

Reaction score
Members Ride
vx ss,vn calais 355