Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

stupid V6... help plz

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by SIG-054, Jul 26, 2006.

  1. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature
    well where do i start... my car is running like a pig.

    -it uses way too much petrol ave. 14L/100km
    -Starts really rough like idles at 2/300rpm for a second or so then jumps up and idles at 15/1800rpm and slowly makes its way bak down to 900rpm (it should be lower than that)
    - she overheats too but i dont know why...

    all these problems arose just overnight about 2months ago

    ive changes the leads, plugs, coolant temp sensor, thermostat, fuel filter, dropped the oil, changed coolant, new battery, new gaskets around throttle body and elbow, cleaned air filter (KnN), changed the IAC with a 2nd hand one.. no difference

    ive checked the throttle position sensor, fuel reg and i bought a new o2 sensor last yr so it shouldnt be that..

    ohh and theres no error codes showin on the ecu

    so yeah any help is greatly appreciated
     
  2. Morton

    Morton For external use only

    Messages:
    4,097
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Fairstar the Funship
    Your fuel consumption seems average. :) and Commodores all have fairly unpredictable idles at startup. They always idle high when cold. If you want it to idle lower, I think you can adjust the throttle cable.

    Not sure about the overheating. How bad is it?
     
  3. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    If thats all city driving that aint so bad. The exec models used 12.5L per 100km so the Calais would be higher than that, and with the big wheels and exhaust i'd be pretty happy with 13.5L city driving especially if you have a lead foot or carry extra people around. 14L really aint that bad at all in a Calais like yours.

    If it over heats then check the coolant level underneath the radiator cap, if its full of coolant in the overflow bottle but not under the radiator cap you probably have a blockage in your coolant system.

    Also, did you flush the radiator when you replaced the coolant?
     
  4. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature
    lol i used to get 9.5 L/100km

    coolant is fine guys
     
  5. Morton

    Morton For external use only

    Messages:
    4,097
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Fairstar the Funship
    Me too, before I totalled the mazda and got a V6. :rofl:
     
  6. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature
    thats ok mate, but thats how efficient my car was, i was regularly gettin over 600km to a tank (63 L)
     
  7. FXST01

    FXST01 The Grey Man

    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    VP V6 Exec
    Have you checked the tubing and MAP sensor?
     
  8. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature
    yep all been checked and all working fine
     
  9. Full Spectrum

    Full Spectrum Bro it's a VW your Audi!

    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Berlina V6
    Have you checked the fuel lines for leaks?
    I have only just found some of my clamps are getting on and have let out some petrol of late.

    But your fuel consumption looks good to a guy that was getting 27l/100:D Now 14.5l/100.
     
  10. STEALTHY™

    STEALTHY™ So Wet For You!

    Messages:
    6,630
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    SA - The Roadworks State
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
    might wanna put some oil back in there maybe......:p



    fuel is way about avergave, my 5L get 10L/100K
     
  11. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature

    ohh maybe thats wat its is... ill make sure to pick up some oil tomoro :whistling
     
  12. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature
    thats the first thing i did, i changed the rubber fuel lines wen i changed the fuel filter too
     
  13. 88GreenVN

    88GreenVN Next Exit Left

    Messages:
    6,792
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Surprise, Arizona
    Members Ride:
    Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
    Is the fan cutting in? - over heating...
     
  14. CSL

    CSL Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Members Ride:
    missus (in more ways than one)
    that could easily explain the over heating problem, bad wiring to fan or relax is buggered,
     
  15. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature
    it cuts in sometimes but not all the time (didnt know the fan had a relay).. but is the overheating a part of this one problem or is it a coincidence ya rekon?
     
  16. PaRaDoX

    PaRaDoX Because Racecouch...

    Messages:
    3,286
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    none
    i was getting 50-100L/100km......

    got 1km down the road and ran outta petrol... ripped the engine apart and found a rocker was VERY loose!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  17. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature
    not the fan relay....

    changing the CAS this week so well see then
     
  18. bradcad

    bradcad New Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina & mazda 2 DE
    Any vaccuum leaks? Particularly hoses coming off the TB?
     
  19. SIG-054

    SIG-054 New Member

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Willall Racing
    Members Ride:
    Y-Series Senator Signature
    nope all good
     
  20. bradcad

    bradcad New Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina & mazda 2 DE
    Really a strange one- Doesn't sound like head gasket problems, you say there's no vaccuum leaks, and it happened overnight....

    that's got me!

    she's running well when warm- just high idle?

    Not missing?

    Power wise?

    I could suggest things like check cat converter hasn't imploded but it kinda doesnt sound like it- with the strange start.
     

Share This Page