Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Sub and amp install | how to

chrisdoesitbetter

| → ³8°º™ ← |
Joined
May 3, 2009
Messages
298
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VR 3.8L
just wondering if anyone has a how to guide to installing subs and amps properly.
 

holdenboy

Custom Car Stereo Systems
Joined
Aug 31, 2008
Messages
2,330
Reaction score
15
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Nelson Bay NSW
Members Ride
VR Wagon
I could give you s step by step guide.....but you'll have to be experienced with car audio gear installation and pulling apart certain interior parts of your car. If not its far better to head into your local car audio shop and pay them to install it, should cost around the $100-$150 mark i'd imagine, more for the cables required if you dont have them.
 

eXphoid

I have no license yet xD.
Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
VIC
Website
www.exphoid.com
Members Ride
VZ executive & VS Equipe S2 Ecotec
Every car is different, so the method is similar but different in its own way. Don't go to a specialist yet though, just keep asking as some people are willing to install it for a 6 pack or something.
 

Fun_Bucket

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
2,990
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Cairns White Rock
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
Chris if you have a fair idea on what your doing, then i reccomend just getting stuck into it, and if you have any problems along we way, im sure you'll get the answers on here. But like Holdenboy was saying, you'll need a bit of knowledge and experience, so if you haven't got that, then take it to a specialist.
 

chrisdoesitbetter

| → ³8°º™ ← |
Joined
May 3, 2009
Messages
298
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VR 3.8L
ive installed a cd plaer sub and amp in my old pulsar so i know a bit but i actually care about this car so i want to do it properly without blowing speakers etc.
 

gdunkley84

I Have a Dent.
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
79
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
36
Location
Orelia, WA, 6167
Members Ride
2009 VE SSV Sportswagon
Maybe posting what gear you have might get a better answer. We could probably drum up a step by step guide.
 

holdenboy

Custom Car Stereo Systems
Joined
Aug 31, 2008
Messages
2,330
Reaction score
15
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Nelson Bay NSW
Members Ride
VR Wagon
Well if youve got some knowledge (sounds like you do) then yes, we can provide you with a guide on what to do. But youve already installed a sub and amp before, so you should know what to do?

Anyways yeah like above just post up the components you want to install.
 

chrisdoesitbetter

| → ³8°º™ ← |
Joined
May 3, 2009
Messages
298
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VR 3.8L
sub and 2 amplifiers...can you run 2 amplifiers by commoning one fuse?beacause i dont want to have one fuse for every amp i run
 

Philthy

That dent guy
Joined
Aug 28, 2005
Messages
2,047
Reaction score
19
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Website
www.qbdentfree.com.au
Members Ride
3.0R Liberty, XC Falcon
You will need a fused distribution block, so you will have a fuse at the battery, then 2 in the distribution block. This is one area that you don't want to cheap out on coz a fuse is all thats between your dodgy wiring and your car becoming a fireball
 

kinga

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VZ Wagon
I mounted a 4 channel amp under the seat of my vs, was a little large and fasioned a cover plate sort a of a Z shape to look at it from the side, then attached it to the floow and the amp with velcro, stopped people kicking the amp.
Another point to think about: is there any specific point to run the amp power cable through the firewall that is easy. Remember it was a pig of a job in my VS and took ages to finesse it through, and hoping someone has some ideas on how to do it in a VZ, whether there is a spefiic spot to go through
 
Top