Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

SV6 trouble after new spark plugs.

Do I need a new engine

• Total voters

gcchris

Chiller for realer
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SV6 UTE
Hi All,

Firstly, happy Bathurst. Now with that said, I'm a 2nd time newbie; I got allot of help here 8 years ago with an old VS I was having issues with so I decided to crawl back now I'm having issues with a VE.

I picked up an SV6 VE manual ute 3.6 high output, supposedly for a short term intermittent ride, mostly to haul my dirt bikes and cart bins to the tip (we have no rubbish collection).

Anyway trouble started on Friday in traffic when the car next to me pointed out I was leaking coolant, I checked my gauge which hadn't yet moved, which was good as I caught the drama early. I pulled over and discovered the top inlet had snapped off the radiator (had this also on my VS - bloody plastic radiators) with most of the hose inside the pipe, luckily there was enough of a lip left on the radiator to reattach the hose, using my trusted weatherman to reapply the clip. After that I limped to a servo and filled up the coolant.

So yesterday I went and picked up a new addrad radiator and put it in with no issues. But I decided to change the plugs and oils whilst messing around with the car. However this is where the story turns bad. I removed the manifold intake and popped out the plugs, replaced them and put everything back together as it came off, taking car to align manifold etc etc. I torqued everything down and went to give it a start, except it was super rough idling between 500 and 1000 rpm and stalling. I pulled it all back apart to make sure nothing was missed or connected incorrectly and put it all back together again, but same thing, now it even has an incurably loud knocking in the engine.