Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

T400 into a VC

Paiste402

My workin on the car face
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
558
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Location
Normanville SA
Members Ride
1992 EB Fairmont Ghia
Ive got a T350 but its gone all crappy on me and i have an oppourtunity to get a T400 for $400 but im not sure wat defferences there are between the 2.

Will the speedo cable work? Is it bigger than the T350? Will my tourque converter fit to the 400? Will the tailshaft fit? All those sorta questions lol

Thanks guys.
 

Paiste402

My workin on the car face
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
558
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Location
Normanville SA
Members Ride
1992 EB Fairmont Ghia
no body knows at all if the TH400 will work?
 

Tom_1569

Ecotech Power
Joined
Nov 19, 2006
Messages
2,236
Reaction score
47
Points
48
Location
Gippsland - VIC
Members Ride
'14 SR5 Pusslux
From memory the TH400 is slighty bigger then the 350 size wise, but it may be reversed. It will bolt in, well should.
Pretty sure speedo drive/cable is the same, but you may need a need driven gear.
Tail shafts will be different, as the boxes are different lengths from memory.
No idea on Torque converter.
Cross members should be the same.

The above is pretty much a guess, i have **** all experiences with these boxes, and never really took notice of the differences.

Hopefully someone actually knows lol.
 

Paiste402

My workin on the car face
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
558
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Location
Normanville SA
Members Ride
1992 EB Fairmont Ghia
cheers tom, a bit of info for me to ponder on. Rudd money is comin through and my VC needs a trans, i can get a TH400 with a kingswood tailshaft for $400 or just a TH350 for $550.

Anyone else played with these 2 transmissions?
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,989
Reaction score
431
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
the 400 will sap more power from the engine than the 350
 

Ado

Are we there yet?
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
350
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Age
34
Members Ride
vsII statesman L67
the 400 will sap more power from the engine than the 350
Yep,id just fix the 350.Buying a second hand 400 then stuffing around to fit it you may as well keep what you got.Nothing wrong with the 350.
Im pretty sure the 400 is longer so the front tailshaft will need to be shortened.Converter should be the same as will be the cables etc.
 

vh2nv

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Franga(vic)
Members Ride
VH Commodore
wat engine u have 253 or 308 i got told from an auto specialised that the bottom 2 holes on the engine have to be filled and retapped if u have a 253
 

Ado

Are we there yet?
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
350
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Age
34
Members Ride
vsII statesman L67
wat engine u have 253 or 308 i got told from an auto specialised that the bottom 2 holes on the engine have to be filled and retapped if u have a 253
If you have a trimatic pattern V8 then you would need an adaptor plate to mate the motor and box together.
 

Paiste402

My workin on the car face
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
558
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Location
Normanville SA
Members Ride
1992 EB Fairmont Ghia
Its a black 308 with a turbo pattern so it will bolt up, its more about the tailshaft, speedo cable and most inportantly the torque converter that is the issue.
 
Top