Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Tacho seems to be draining power...

9898989

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Tanjil, VIC
Members Ride
VY 'S' Pack '03
I have a aftremarket tacho hooked up to my vk and it seems that it is draining my battery power/charge

Last week my car was left for 5 days when the earth wire was NOT connected to the tacho and it started just fine...

But this week I hooked up the earth wire to the tacho and the battery was drained when I tried to start it this mornin after 4 days of just sitting there

Any ideas???

Aftermarket Alaram still was operational but just wouldnt start!!!!
 

nizmovk

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
164
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
NZ
Members Ride
VK wagon
how is it wired up? To existing loom or have new wires been run?
 

Goon

Scientific Tuning
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Messages
2,508
Reaction score
9
Points
38
Location
BrisVegas. QLD
Members Ride
VY CUSTOM.
This is my setup mate i have a speco 03 model, green wire to coil, red to 12v accessory and black to a screw on my chrome strip. The tacho will only turn on when she starts. "sometimes it doesnt show, but if u move your key back 1mm it might"
 

craigvk

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
1,981
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Members Ride
VK 5L Calais
9898989 said:
I have a aftremarket tacho hooked up to my vk and it seems that it is draining my battery power/charge

Last week my car was left for 5 days when the earth wire was NOT connected to the tacho and it started just fine...

But this week I hooked up the earth wire to the tacho and the battery was drained when I tried to start it this mornin after 4 days of just sitting there

Any ideas???

Aftermarket Alaram still was operational but just wouldnt start!!!!

Connect the 12V wire up to your ignition switch, so the tacho only turns on when you turn the key.
 

9898989

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Tanjil, VIC
Members Ride
VY 'S' Pack '03
i have wired it so that it only works when the ignition is on
 

craigvk

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
1,981
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Members Ride
VK 5L Calais
Then it's not your tacho guage.
 
Top