Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Tax time. What can i claim?

Mase1990

VY Storm 03
Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Storm 03
I am an apprentice boilermaker. I am employed though a training company and work at a host company. Because i am technically a contractor, my host company/ training company can tell me im working at a different site or company with little to no notice. I travel 500kms a week, to and from work. Because i am technically a contractor i have no permanant place for my tools, other than my car. Does this mean i can claim anything related to travel on tax? Also this is the first time i've had to claim tax, Any tips???

Thanks everyone,
Mase..

minux

Reaction score
Members Ride
2017 SSV Redline
See an accountant...

old mate

Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Members Ride
VB Sedan / GU Patrol
as above. but you probably wont be paying that much tax anyway....

Tree cutter

Tree cutter
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Calais SuperchargedV6
You should be able to claim most of your expenses like tools, car services and repairs, fuel etc. If you get a good acountant you shouldnt be paying much tax.

Tatiana

We should have sushi Carol
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
Equinox LTZ - runs on cocaine
Don't take advise from people on the internet, it could end in tears - yours.

Seek advise from a tax professional. You can claim back the fee next year.

minux

Reaction score
Members Ride
2017 SSV Redline
If you get a good acountant you shouldnt be paying much tax.

What a load of ****. Whatt does having a good accountant have to do anything?

They only way you pay less tax is through legal deductions, nothing more.

Deutscher

Reaction score
Members Ride
Toyota MR2
What a load of ****. Whatt does having a good accountant have to do anything?