Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

temp gauge don't read

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by bubbada, Oct 26, 2016.

  1. bubbada

    bubbada Member

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    91' VN Commodore
    vt calais ign on, temp gauge dont read anything above the bottom mark and the high speed fans are running while ign on (aircon is not on) i've tried tests from this post

    fans are working in the tests but hav'nt tried 68ohm resistor across the temp sensor connector but have tried a piece of wire though in place, not a flinch from the temp gauge.

    help please.
     
  2. wrx884

    wrx884 WA's ASR Rep

    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VT Exec/ VT L67 Spac, 5L VP Calais, 77 TC Gemini
    a piece of wire wont have the resistance needed to do that test on the connector so go to jaycar or the likes and pick up that resistor (50 cents lol) to test.

    if u dont have one while ur at jaycar get urself a multimeter ($20, always comes in handy) so u can test the sensor at 100*.
     
  3. oska

    oska Active Member

    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    vx custom 600RR
    might be your ABS module unplug and see if the problem stops
     
  4. Vt v6

    Vt v6 New Member

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Vt v6
    Umm abs? please just replace the coolant temp sensor for 26 bucks and let us know...
     
  5. bubbada

    bubbada Member

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    91' VN Commodore
    well it seems to be the abs module after all because i first test with the resistor and nothing happened so me mate disconnected the abs module then tried again, yes now it climbed all the way up on the gauge. cool :D

    can i run around with the abs module disconnected for a while, without brakes locking up? or is that a myth?
     

Share This Page