Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

temp sender

slayer

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2004
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
Location
western subz melb
Members Ride
vn wgn
hey all i got a new vn wgn today ( my new project) and noticed that the temp gauge dont work

so id say its the sender unit but my prob is where is the sender unit located
 
Last edited:

YMY-88U

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
483
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
30
Location
Canberra
Members Ride
Project VH SL/E
are you talkin about the coolant temp sensor?? its under the alternator on the serie 2's not sure on serie 1's
 

NORTI

Crazy VS lady
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
2,425
Reaction score
146
Points
63
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VS Senator, VS SS, VS Ute, VP BT1
sure its not a thermostat prob? If its stuck closed will run cold. My gauge wasnt working & after replacing thermostat works fine now :p




D.
 

slayer

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2004
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
Location
western subz melb
Members Ride
vn wgn
could be that too all i know it the gauge isnt working so thought it would be a sensor issue


and yes i have a series one
 

slayer

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2004
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
Location
western subz melb
Members Ride
vn wgn
so where is it located on a series one????

and is there anyway i can test the sender to see if that is the problem
 

xcop5l

4th year spanner spinner
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
977
Reaction score
11
Points
0
Location
ol' geelong vic
Members Ride
VN ex cop 5L
sure its not a thermostat prob? If its stuck closed will run cold. My gauge wasnt working & after replacing thermostat works fine now :p
its stuck open will run cold stuck closed will run hot


slayer did you try the old bang on the dash trick???? maby its the gauge.
all you gotta do is get it hot(idling for bout 10 min) then bash on the top of the dash.... if it is the gauge it should make the gauge go up.

but first check to see if it has any coolant/water in it.....it could be dry
 

slayer

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2004
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
Location
western subz melb
Members Ride
vn wgn
no its neither of that i just replaced the dash as well and its still not reading at all and yes the bash trick was the first thing i tried lol
 

NORTI

Crazy VS lady
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
2,425
Reaction score
146
Points
63
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VS Senator, VS SS, VS Ute, VP BT1
lol sorry just re-read what I worte!!! ignore me, musta been having a blonde moment.....



D.
 

xcop5l

4th year spanner spinner
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
977
Reaction score
11
Points
0
Location
ol' geelong vic
Members Ride
VN ex cop 5L
ok the sensor should be under the altinator above the water pump.if not it will be down the back near the thermostat..
its not an easy task to test em.
when you find it, it will be the one with one wire.
disconect the wire and use a jump wire and if you earth the wire out it should read hot.(im not 100% havent done it in a while)

if the gauge reads hot then replace the sensor
 
Top