Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

The Bicycle Thread.

shane_3800

Reaction score
Members Ride
vr commo
Well I checked the Health & Fitness forums and got to 2016 and there's nothing specific about bicycles so I decided to start a thread.

So I've Ironically started riding my bike I bought while I wasn't allowed to drive and now I'm driving I'm riding it.....
So seeing as I'm still a noob when it comes to bikes I thought maybe there's people that can not only help me but others.

So I have a road bike atm running a Shimano Sora groupset I changed wheels to Shimano R501's with GP5000's and added Dura Ace rim pads to the Sora calipers and it stops good and shifts great.

I'm looking at getting a gravel bike because the crap bike paths and crap roads where I live are taking little nips out of my $70 each tyres, which run awsome btw.
So I've been looking at gravel bikes and don't know if I should go for a 1x or a 2x group set. I'm looking at spending about 2k on my next bike and have seen I can either get Shimano 105, Shimano GRX or the SRAM GRX equivalent (I forget what it's called)
Will stepping down from those groupsets to a cable disc brake be a mistake? Should I go a SRAM 1x 12 groupset? Or should I just get a hard tail moutain bike?
Most of my riding will be on bike paths and proper dirt roads where I will be better using drop bars.

Any insights will be appreciated.

shane_3800

Reaction score
Members Ride
vr commo
Also I heard on my 9 speed Sora chain set I can run an 11 speed chain? Anyone done this?

Derekthetree

Reaction score
Members Ride
Gen-F R8 SV Manual
I've also been looking at a gravel bike, but stock is rarer than rocking horse doodah.

I'm not much of a cyclist though, just after a casual, decent weekend bike.

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member