Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

The "gears" and "power" in an auto

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by nath_120, Jul 21, 2006.

  1. nath_120

    nath_120 New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Members Ride:
    '95 VSI Executive
    What functions do the 1, 2 and 3 on the auto do?
    Can you use them like a clutchless manual, or does it wreck the gearbox?

    What about the power button? Does this just rev higher before changing gears?

    Thanks
    Nath
     
  2. hako

    hako Donating Member

    Messages:
    8,019
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    Toowoomba SE QLD
    Members Ride:
    VS11 BT1 V6
    Selecting 1, 2,or 3 will hold the box in those gears .....however I think if in 1 and you over-rev, it will go to 2 (for safety)....but generally speaking if you don't over-rev they will stay in the gear selected....won't wreck the box.
    And re the power button - what you say is correct - just holds the gears for longer.
     
  3. Harvs82

    Harvs82 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    Glen Waverley VIC
    Members Ride:
    MY08 Subaru Liberty GT-B & MY16 VF II SS Redline
    Correct. You can put the stick in first doing 100 km/h, but it won't shift back to first until a safer speed is reached, usually below 40 km/h. Same thing if you take off with the stick in first, it will automatically shift into second at 5750 rpms. Second gear does not do this though, if you leave the stick in 2, so you will hit the limiter...

    Power button changes the shift points, it will hold gears for longer, and won't go into overdrive until you are doing over 85 km/h. It is often used for towing, and for more responsive driving, as the transmission shifts back a gear with less throttle than when used in economy mode.
     
  4. holden007

    holden007 VRII

    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Members Ride:
    Subaru Liberty
    The other day in my council car (VZ commodore wagon), I was at 80ks so I stuck it into Gear 1, I thought it wouldnt shift back, but the damn thing shifted and the thing redlined, and never will I do that again.
     
  5. Patrio7

    Patrio7 3Y3 K4N 5P33K 1337.

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Como
    Members Ride:
    '96 S1 VS Exec
    lmao unless im goign for gold bulma never sees more than 4000rpm, day to day drivign i would do about 2900ish max
     
  6. Torquen

    Torquen Boost FTW

    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    450+ HP FORD XR6T
    i cant help myself. its to hard to keap the car in the low revs. i do it for 1/2 a tank then im so frustarted and borded that i thrash teh second 1/2. much respect 2 anyone who has more self control than me on this topic. and yeh power button makes it change gear at higher revs. and it will rev higher at crusing speed to.
     
  7. RebelSS

    RebelSS RebelSS

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VE SSV A6
    Gears

    Hi,
    The reason why you would want to 'lock' in individual gears is to hold the motor within certain rev range.

    If this is to ensure the auto does not chnage-up to quickly, you can have your computerre-programmed to do so. But, the down-side is that you reduce the fuel economy and create greater stress/wear on your drive train.
     
  8. Bubbaj247

    Bubbaj247 VTR247

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    VICTORIA
    Members Ride:
    VT ACCLAIM II
    I Got a Vt II, You can have it in 1st all the time, but for it to change gears it needs to reach about 200rpm b4 the redline, gear after gear,Its not a bad way to get all the power out of all gears, By leaving it in first once it reachs 59Km/H it drops back into first, it says what it will do in the origial holden user manuals. but by doing this uses alot more fuel, then nessary. So the only reason ya want to use it is to drag people, or to get to your top speed. which doing it this way is probley the best way. Cheers
     
  9. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6

    Glad my rates aren't payin' for your car:D
     
  10. nath_120

    nath_120 New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Members Ride:
    '95 VSI Executive
    Cheers for the replies everyone.
     
  11. holden007

    holden007 VRII

    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Members Ride:
    Subaru Liberty

    It's leaseback
     

Share This Page