Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

The Research and Development Thread!!

Discussion in 'Envyous Customs' started by TazzI, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. vk4akp

    vk4akp Starfire, Fear V Power!!

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    Ipswich / Queensland / Australia
    Members Ride:
    2004 VY2 - Commodore Wagon,VC Commodore (Starfire)
    So what does the VX Nano J2534 Cost?

    And a link please to the correct item?

    I had a quick look online searching that key phrase and am currently unsure what and where to buy to be sure of the correct product?

    I have been procrastinating some time over buying some of your current software to deal with an SRS error due to the current licencing format locking it into what would now be a 5+ year old laptop for me.
    Will there be the ability to lock it into the VX Nano J2534 interface now instead?

    My two cars are 2004 VY2 V6 Wagon Auto's. For reference. I take it the interface suits?

    Tnx.


     
  2. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,499
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    Hi, will this work for both V6 and V8?
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  3. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    324
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden VE SS Ute
    Until I open communication with the manufactures, I wont know about cost. It will likely be heavily reliant on the quantity that I purchase, I am hoping the MOQ (Minimum order quantity) isn't too silly.

    Ah yes I almost forgot to talk about that, the licensing!
    So.. brand new licensing will be coming out. It will be tied to the diagnostic cable instead of the computer. This means any computer can be used so long as the licensed cable is used.

    For your VY V6's, you will be able to get away with just an ALDL cable for all parts of the car. The one software will do everything.

    Sure will! The software will be suited for VR through to VF for all engine/transmission combinations.

    I made a quick diagram below showing which cable does what on each model commodore under the new software:
    - Green is for ALDL
    - Yellow is for Nano
    - Blue means depending on engine
    - Grey mean not applicable
    Support.PNG
     
  4. Dirbatua

    Dirbatua AWOL!

    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    S/e Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX SS Manual, VX SS Auto, VU SS Auto
    YAY!

    Does the new software mean ill need to buy a new ALDL cable off you if its locked to the cable? because i already have the one i brought off you years ago :p so not sure if that will suffice or not haha.

    Also one option Ive been looking for is the option to turn off the double unlock function that i found the Chinese knock off tech 2s have (make it so 1 press unlocks both/all 4 doors instead of having to press it twice) so will that be in the new software or too much effort for little gain?
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2019
  5. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    324
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden VE SS Ute
    View attachment 208017
    I am working on trying to utilize the current ALDL cables with the new software. If not a new revision of ALDL cables will be produced to support the new cable licensing system. I may require old gen ALDL Cables sent in for an update to be supported.
    My main aim is to ensure licensing is tied to the cable, thats being made as priority 1.

    Yeah that will be a BCM related configuration change which should be easy enough to have in there. I quite literally have hundreds of documents of research and develop on modules from VR to VFs. I haven't stopped doing R&D even though there hasn't been new software released. ;)
     
    Dirbatua likes this.
  6. Dirbatua

    Dirbatua AWOL!

    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    S/e Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX SS Manual, VX SS Auto, VU SS Auto
    Cool, i turned off the 2 stage unlock on mine when i borrowed a mates tech2 knock off the play with, but my other 2 cars still have it on and he has since sold it so it bugs the hell outta me rofl.

    Well i can stop posting skeleton pictures for now on this thread haha.
     
  7. TheIceman

    TheIceman Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VY Ex-cop
    isnt it programmable through dash? geez been 13 years since i left the trade cant remember everything i used to know.
     
  8. Dirbatua

    Dirbatua AWOL!

    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    S/e Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX SS Manual, VX SS Auto, VU SS Auto
    its an option in the VY/VZ but not in the VT/VU/VX that im aware of.
     
  9. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    324
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden VE SS Ute
    Dirbatua is onto it, its an option in VY/VZ but not in the older models.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.

Share This Page