Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

The truth about Electric Cars

mpower

Reaction score
Members Ride
V2 CV8 Monaro and VF SSV Redline
Something I have been telling people for some time ...... I'm not a scientist or a greenie, so what would I know ?

I put solar panels on my roof to help save the planet, and save me money. What a dud that has turned out to be. The electricity generating companies are laughing at all us fools for helping them to make bigger profits..

The house always wins.

Not_An_Abba_Fan

Exhaust Guru
Reaction score
Members Ride
Strange Rover
Not our house. At the rate our house uses power, with a 5kW system it will take 28 years to pay back what it cost to install.

EYY

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Statesman
Apparently they're worse for the environment - I've been told that the transportation of the battery components alone ends up producing an incredible amount of pollution, and overall they're worse for the environment than a vehicle with an internal combustion engine over its lifetime.

As a side note:
About 3 years ago I had induction training into one of the biggest car companies in Aus. One of the most interesting things they told us was to NEVER touch a hybrid or electric car that's been in an accident - even if the occupants need assistance. The current in those things is more than enough to kill you, so it's best to wait for emergency services.

markalan1two

Smile and wave boys !!!!
Reaction score
Members Ride
X5 BMW, GenF2 GTS, HSV Y R8, AMG C43
thats the same for roof mounted solar panels in a house fire(during the day of coarse) the fireys have to take care when working around them

markalan1two

Smile and wave boys !!!!
Reaction score
Members Ride
X5 BMW, GenF2 GTS, HSV Y R8, AMG C43