Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Thermo fan fuse and relays

bluejuice

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2006
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Perth
Members Ride
VR Wagon
Today my thermo fan didn't work when the car heated up sitting at traffic lights. Where is the fuse? in the engine bay or under the dash and where is the relay located?
Thanks
 

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
18,126
Reaction score
7,416
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
pop the cover off the fuse/relay panel under the bonnet, everything should be marked
 

protossw

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VR 3.8 EXECUTIVE
you can change it with a relatively unimportant relay in the box like high beam or horn,,,to see if it it the problem of relay or fuse
 

bluejuice

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2006
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Perth
Members Ride
VR Wagon
I've had a quick look and was going to swap a relay over but before I went to do that I thought I'd see if it came on when I put the air con on and it did, so as it works with the air con I figured it's probably not the relay. It must be a sensor not working. So does any one know where the sensor is?
 

bluejuice

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2006
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Perth
Members Ride
VR Wagon
OK swaped the relays and no change must be the sensor.
 

Harvs82

Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
15
Points
38
Age
39
Location
Glen Waverley VIC
Members Ride
MY08 Subaru Liberty GT-B & MY16 VF II SS Redline
Could be a faulty coolant temperature sensor, check that it is connected properly first. The temperature sensor is located just under the thermostat, its not the temperature sender, which has the small black plug, its the thicker cylindrical object, sitting just below the thermostat outlet. New one is about $15 or so from Holden.
 

bluejuice

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2006
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Perth
Members Ride
VR Wagon
Yay, Gotta love the internet and forums. Thanks for the advice, bought a new coolant temp senser $15.80 changed it this am, now working fan fine kicks in at 2/5 and turns off at 3/10 on the gauge.
Only trouble is to get at it I had to undo the alternater so I disconected the battery and now the radio doesn't work. I don't have the code I will do a quick search here to see if there is a way to overide it somehow.
 

Harvs82

Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
15
Points
38
Age
39
Location
Glen Waverley VIC
Members Ride
MY08 Subaru Liberty GT-B & MY16 VF II SS Redline
Yay, Gotta love the internet and forums. Thanks for the advice, bought a new coolant temp senser $15.80 changed it this am, now working fan fine kicks in at 2/5 and turns off at 3/10 on the gauge.
Only trouble is to get at it I had to undo the alternater so I disconected the battery and now the radio doesn't work. I don't have the code I will do a quick search here to see if there is a way to overide it somehow.
You should be able to ask your Holden dealer for the code, all you need is proof of ownership and your VIN number. Might pay to ring around a few dealers though, some charge you for the handing out the code....
 
Top