Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Throttle body question

Pickled

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
572
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
Melbourne, VIC
Members Ride
Barina
Hey JC,

I removed the throttle body from my VP to clean it and the IAC, upon removing it I noticed the bottom of it seemed to be damaged.

My question is what is it and will it change the way the TB acts? My initial reason for cleaning the TB/IAC was because it is idling too high.

Cheers

 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
441
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
that is the throttle position sensor and should be connected to wires LOL its knaffed
 

dans_vz

Active Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
925
Reaction score
94
Points
28
Location
Swan Hill
Members Ride
MY16 VFII SSV Redline Manual & MY13 VDJ76 Cruiser
Yeah thats buggered i'd say thats why you have too high of an idle
 

Pickled

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
572
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
Melbourne, VIC
Members Ride
Barina
That's odd I don't remember seeing any loose wires near the TB when I took it out.

Can it be replaced separately or does the whole TB have to be replaced?
 

hi_ryder

Donating Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
3,352
Reaction score
107
Points
63
Location
Pascoe Vale South, MEL
Members Ride
vp calais ls1, vp berlina 3.8L
can be replaced separately, thats what those 2 torx screws are for.

this is what its meant to look like...


 

Biglachs

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2011
Messages
44
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Perth
Members Ride
Vx executive and vs s3 ute
That's odd I don't remember seeing any loose wires near the TB when I took it out.

Can it be replaced separately or does the whole TB have to be replaced?
Yes it can be replaced separately, just go into an auto shop and ask for a throttle position sensor for a vp v6/8 whatever it's off of, it won't be to expensive I don't think.
 

spauldj308

S Pack Man
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
230
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
33
Location
Hobart, TAS
Members Ride
VR S sedan 5L, VSII ute
Just for information, I think they are around the $35-$40 mark.
 
Top