Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Throttle body

Discussion in 'V6 Development And Modification' started by bobza, Jul 20, 2006.

  1. bobza

    bobza New Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    hey guys,

    i cleaned my throttle body out today, after purchasing a gregories manual. i must say could definately feel a difference. also the gregories manuals are bloody awesome and helpful.
    also does anyone know how much you would approximately pay to get it bored out and how mucha pre bored one is. for ecotech3.8L

    cheers
    bobz
     
  2. dunny_duck

    dunny_duck dunny_duck

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Kerikeri, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VS II Berlina 3.8i
    im in new zealand and it cost $125
     
  3. jenny-3

    jenny-3 Guest

  4. IBLOWN

    IBLOWN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,112
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 TT/'13 VF Senator/'11 WM CapriceV/Hayabusa
    ecotech has a 64mm throttle body, ive done the calculations on the throttle body intake velocity and found that its already way too big, and thats based on 4psi of boost going through it! putting an even bigger one on would be a waste of time.
     
  5. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,004
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    bigger throttle body probably wouldn't show much improvement untill you got your heads done and bigger cam etc, maybe tidyup the one you got etc, knife edge the butterly, thindown the throttle shaft, if there is a lip from the casting where it has been bored, file & polish smooth etc i don't think the 5.0 V8 throttle bodies fits on the ecotec, they do on the buick v6.
     
  6. nado69

    nado69 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive S2
    yeah i finally come into some funds myself ... i know its only like 30 - 40 bucks... gunna purchase 'gregories manual' for my VS, and get a better understading of everything... and also cleaning out my throttle body is 1st on the list
     
  7. digisol

    digisol New Member

    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Central QLD
    Members Ride:
    Toyota Landcruiser
    Like most worked / modified engines the principles of gaining power is pretty simple, get heaps of a/f in, burn it fully, and get it out just as fast, a slight amount of back pressure being a good thing on normally aspirated engines.

    Making the engine swallow more fuel will do squat unless the cam gives it the time to burn and allowing larger valves to open further and stay open longer, IE cam overlap, another subject.

    Extractors are technically not really giving you more HP but regaining lost HP allready there due to poor stock header design, those in the know fit headers to suit the package used, and while basic, longer collector design will give a higher RPM HP band while short collectors do the opposite, making the true art of engine performance more than the basics of bigger carby, modified cam, head work, and off the shelf extractors.

    You may waste thousands and have a lousy exhaust system with restrictive mufflers, all has to be changed to be genuine in the search for added HP.

    So increasing the t/b dia will do little, the entire package needs consideration, and the most obvious, more mods costs more $$$, thus more $$ = more power / speed.
     
  8. blaze

    blaze ridin dirty

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    bunbury
    Members Ride:
    SILVER BULLET
    i cleaned mine today with sum good tb cleaner n put her back together and 4 sum reason she doesnt idle to well stalls it really easy.. dunno what i done wrong .. also bought a 69mm tb off ebay havent received it yet
     

Share This Page