Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

torque vs hp

Discussion in 'Dyno Figures' started by samnon, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. Munz

    Munz Right Foot Action

    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane NTH
    Members Ride:
    VZ Calais LS1 / VL RB30e daily
    What do you mean by 'peaking'? Is that where the limiter is set?

    That cam can go all the way to 7400 if your bottom end can handle it!!
     
  2. Cava454

    Cava454 Member

    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Location:
    Box
    Members Ride:
    VR SS, VZ SS
    That thing should see 7500 with ease.
     
  3. samnon

    samnon New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    Members Ride:
    vt ss
    got scat rods and arp studded bottom end. tuner said not making power any higher than that so no point spinning it faster, think limiter is about 6700, i know the set up isn't made for high power. i know things aren't matched properly. cam specs say 7200. but yeah not really worried about that stuff just thought that considering kw is low its weird the torque is high
     
  4. xxaussiepridexx

    xxaussiepridexx New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    sydney
    Members Ride:
    vy sv8
    Mate I'm unsure of the torque figures but u should be making more than that I'm sitting at 290 rwklw with a big cam high 230's to low 240's don't know the exact specs as the guy I got it done through makes his own cams. Ls1 manual standard diff 6speed and it moves, I know a few guys that are running smaller cams that are running around the 260 to 270 klw so doesn't sound right to me. I've got full exhaust duspeed Otr 45% underdrive kit upgraded clutch with no head work
     
  5. samnon

    samnon New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    Members Ride:
    vt ss
    yeah i know its down on power lol auto is unhappy. the fact its down on kw is what made me curious about the torque. just thought i'd see what ppl said about it. hopefully get a new auto in it at start of next year and maybe it'll bring it up a bit.
     
  6. Cava454

    Cava454 Member

    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Location:
    Box
    Members Ride:
    VR SS, VZ SS
    Manifold is killing the power up top. That thing should make power all the way to 7500, you got the bottom end to match it also.

    This thing needs a 4000 convert at the very least and it should absolutely fry tires.
     
  7. TI3VOM

    TI3VOM Active Member

    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Here there and everywhere.
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore
    See that wasn't hard was it? :)
     
  8. samnon

    samnon New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    Members Ride:
    vt ss
    its got 4000 grand converter, and yeah fries tires easy lol hence why i'm not too worried by the dyno figures. don't reckon ls2 manifold is big enough? i only just put it on last week picked up 20kw
     
  9. samnon

    samnon New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    Members Ride:
    vt ss
    was making max power at 5900 rpm with the ls1 manifold
     
  10. ari666

    ari666 250,000 hits

    Messages:
    11,829
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1966 impala, R32 GTR
  11. Munz

    Munz Right Foot Action

    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane NTH
    Members Ride:
    VZ Calais LS1 / VL RB30e daily
    Yep agreed, stalls kill the power on the dyno, but on the strip you gain ET

    my car went from 279rwkw head/cam back to 255rwkw with 4000 stall, but gained .5 at the strip
     
  12. samnon

    samnon New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    Members Ride:
    vt ss
    really need to take it to strip again, last time i went hit 1st gear limiter couple times than got stuck on second just wouldn't change lol, thinking its due to different size wheels, did a 1.8 60 ft and was 8 something half track can't remember exactly
     
  13. Munz

    Munz Right Foot Action

    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane NTH
    Members Ride:
    VZ Calais LS1 / VL RB30e daily
    are you leaving it in lower D or 3 (unsure what VT has), as it will just bounce off limiter if you try and manually shift thru the gears
     
  14. Cava454

    Cava454 Member

    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Location:
    Box
    Members Ride:
    VR SS, VZ SS
    Leaving it in D Will net best results
     
  15. samnon

    samnon New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    Members Ride:
    vt ss
    yeah was leaving it in third, it usually works best but had 20's on front and 16's on back threw wheel speed sensors out i think.
     

Share This Page