Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Trailer wiring harness (genuine) - plug and play?

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by saroadie, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. saroadie

    saroadie Active Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SV6 Storm
    I've got a new genuine 1600kg towbar and wiring harness which are all genuine Holden to fit to my SV6 sedan.

    Is anyone able to confirm if the wiring harness/module is plug and play in terms of brake/indicator light function or is there some programming of the car's BCM required after hooking up the harness?

    I know about setting the park assist to "on with a tow bar" in MyLink when the tow bar tongue/ball is fitted to the car. Just want to know if there's any Canbus issues with the brake/indicator lighting I'm going to encounter which require a dealer to change settings in the car's BCM.
     
  2. diysv6

    diysv6 Member

    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Location:
    SEQ
    Members Ride:
    VF S1 SV6 STORM A6: VZ S1 SV6 A5
    When I had my Towbar fitted, VFS1, the dealer said the BCM needed to be made aware that there would be extra lighting load in the parkers and brake circuits.
    I think he said if I fitted the bar myself, there would be a workshop fee to program the BCM - about $100 from memory.

    Got them to do the install in the end.
     
  3. saroadie

    saroadie Active Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SV6 Storm
    Thanks diysv6.

    I've heard different outcomes for different cars, some requiring a BCM change, others not.

    Towbar etc is here on the workshop floor at home so the install will be by me. Guess I'll have to see what happens.
     
  4. Anthony121

    Anthony121 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Redline MY17 & VF Director
    Wiring harness has the module in it to supply the trailer lights/power
     
  5. Maloo37

    Maloo37 Active Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais, VF2 SSVR UTE
    I have factory fitted tow package on my VF2 redline and it all worked no problems just connected up trailer. The only thing I had to do was use an adapter as the factory light connection is rectangle shape instead of round.
    No reprogramming anything
     
  6. redvxr8clubby

    redvxr8clubby Active Member

    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    VX Clubsport R8 & VE SS
    The dealer told you rubbish, the module which is part of the genuine wiring kit caters for additional load. I fitted a towbar and genuine wiring kit to a VE SV6 no problem. Only thing I could anticipate perhaps is that reversing sensors beeping when the trailer is present. My VE didn't have reversing sensors, so I had no such problem.
     
  7. duaned

    duaned Active Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    M6 Red Hot MSE
    A friend and I fitted a 1600kg towbar and genuine harness to his VF SSV and he had to visit the dealer for some programming to get it to work correctly.
     
  8. diysv6

    diysv6 Member

    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Location:
    SEQ
    Members Ride:
    VF S1 SV6 STORM A6: VZ S1 SV6 A5
    Bugger.
    From members replies, not all Commodores VE, VF and variants are made equal and can be treated by the same methods.
     
  9. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    5,057
    Likes Received:
    753
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    VE was plug and play including models with reverse sensors. When trailer plug plugged in it disables the reverse sensors.
    Don't know about VF...
     
  10. saroadie

    saroadie Active Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SV6 Storm
    Rang service at my dealer this morning.
    They reckon that as far as install goes it will be plug and play. The issue I will encounter is that when reversing, the reverse park assist will beep a continual tone.
    This is what the BCM requires adjusting to eliminate, so no reason not to install and drive.
    The BCM reset is a 30 minute drop-in job for $66.00. Sounds cool.
    I'll report back after installing/visiting the dealer.
     
  11. treesnake

    treesnake Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VF Sv6 SII Sedan
    Reversing will obviously pick up the trailer behind and see it as an object. Disabling this does it mean the reverse sensors wont work at all even without the trailer?

    Interested in the results, Im planning to get a towbar aswell over the next months, and DIY install

    The Ve was definitely plug an play buying a genuine harness/ecu of ebay.

    For the VF, there is the setting in mylink where you tell it you have a tow bar, have a play with that setting, it may be all that required if the rest of it is meant to be plug and play?
     
  12. saroadie

    saroadie Active Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SV6 Storm
    The service guy said the BCM change is needed regardless of the Mylink setting.
     
  13. saroadie

    saroadie Active Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SV6 Storm
    OK so towbar fitted, wiring harness with trailer module installed.
    The driver display says check trailer lights with no trailer connected. The indicators flash double-time. The reverse park sensors cease working. The car thinks it has a trailer with faulty lights connected.
    Dropped into the dealer. They programmed the BCM. All works perfectly. $66.00 less than 30 minutes.
    All good.
     
  14. treesnake

    treesnake Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VF Sv6 SII Sedan
    Hi mate, Did you happen to take any photos of your towbar install?

    Is it the same as a ve towbar? Ive been doing the ring around and some vendors are saying the vf towbar is completely different to the ve , and other places say they are identical. There are several 1600kg towbars new on ebay cheap at $240 shipped, fit both ve and vf, curios to find out what the go is there

    Cheers
     
  15. sersev

    sersev Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais v 6.0
    Hi, just installed a towbar on my vf. I bought a secondhand one from the wreckers, it had ve written on it but it fit perfectly. As for the module, its plug and play. There is a plug next to the battery just hook it up. Also you can change setting via mylink
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
  16. saroadie

    saroadie Active Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SV6 Storm
    Happy investigating!
     
  17. treesnake

    treesnake Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VF Sv6 SII Sedan
    Thanks mate, do the vfs have the aluminium impact bar like the ve's ? Trying too look inside my ve bumper and all i see is foam
     
  18. sersev

    sersev Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais v 6.0
    The vf has a black foam piece. Just take it out and place towbar
     
  19. saroadie

    saroadie Active Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    2015 VF SV6 Storm
    Yep what seserv said. Foam.
     
  20. Smitty

    Smitty Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Gen-F R8 Tourer wagon, VK Clubbie race car
    strange that... there is a setting on MYLINK on mine to 'tell' the computer there is a towbar attached.

    If you have a towbar and don't change the setting, when you reverse the reverse beep will drive you crazy
    you make sure it is set correctly
     

Share This Page