Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Transmission slipping stuck in 3rd or 4th gutless low down

N

nielo

Guest
Every gear feels like its slipping and wont drop back to lower gears under acceleration so I ran a diagnosis test and these are the auto transmission fault codes 66, 67, 81, 82

I checked the gearbox fluid and it seems fine, im guessing if It was only one fault code it may be electronic - but 4 fault codes seems a little fatal - I think it may be easier/cheaper to have a second hand gearbox installed, Holden wants $2200 for a new box.

Thanks Nielo
 

sircruisealotVS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
2,934
Reaction score
50
Points
48
Age
36
Location
South Brisbane
Members Ride
VZ LS1 Calais
yeah, i does sound bad...might be worth while at least taking it to a transmission place and seeing if they can shed any light on the problem though, before you get a newie.
 

Doctor Bob

Grandpa
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
2,792
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Retired
Members Ride
RG. Colorado & Caravan
check the fuses, the most common cause for logging all these together is a blown fuse.

Rob
 

hako

Donating Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
8,020
Reaction score
87
Points
48
Age
77
Location
Toowoomba SE QLD
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6
Sounds like its running in "limp home" mode.
 
V

vasili vr

Guest
gearbox

hey man i dnt fink its worth gettin a new box... go 2 rekcers or at sum transmition specialists and u can get a reconditioned box for as cheap as couple hundred buks.
 

dmitch

DonkeySS
Joined
Oct 23, 2005
Messages
437
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Perth W.A
Members Ride
VS SS S2
recons box will set u back at least $2000 4L60E or about $1500 for the 4L60 worth goin 2 trans place and c if they can find out wats wrong
 

Famine

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
195
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
33
Members Ride
VR Berlina V6
Mine did the same and it was the 3-2 solenoid, got it fixed for nothing cause I recently had some work done by the same bloke :D
 
N

nielo

Guest
Mine did the same and it was the 3-2 solenoid, got it fixed for nothing cause I recently had some work done by the same bloke :D
Is that solenoid inside the transmission - i mean would the gearbox still need to be removed from the car to replace that solenoid?

Thanks for all the input guys/gals I really appreciate the response's from the community..
 
Top