Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

True Trac into M80

Jolls

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VY SS Ute (Jimi Hendrix)
Hi Team
I just purchased a VY SS ute and the diff supplied is an empty M80 case with an Eaton True Trac with Dana 3.9s new in a box. I have never done a diff setup before; but I do have the required presses and tools to do the job.

I am tossing up sending it off to get the job done professionally and using it as a learning experience. Any advice from those that have done this before?

I do have a good diff out of my written off VZ (hit a roo) that I can use in the interim so time is not a huge issue to me.

Cheers n Beers
Jolls

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX Calais II L67
It's a time consuming process.

Setting the backlash isn't that hard as the adjustment is threaded. It's setting the pinion height that can be a pain. On the M80 they put the shim under the pinion bearing tapered race that is pressed into the diff housing.

I've done one but I didn't have the correct pinion shims so the pattern is a little deep on the crown wheel and the diff is a little noisy.

You also need to make an adapter so you can hold the drive shaft coupling on the pinion so you can do up the pinion nut, it takes a decent amount of torque to get that crush sleeve to move. I used a 600mm power bar. As it tightens down you also need to keep spinning the pinion so the bearing doesn't bind up as the pre-load comes one.

Jolls

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VY SS Ute (Jimi Hendrix)
It's a time consuming process.