Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Trying to Fix Problem, Size Earth

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by COMMY VP 666, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. COMMY VP 666

    COMMY VP 666 COMMY VP V6

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    COMMODORE VP
    hey all

    what size earth is best for car stereo amp?

    thanks to all
     
  2. Trayner

    Trayner Fresh prince of Pakky

    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Pakenham , VIC
    Members Ride:
    Vz ss 6.0L Thunder , Vz S One Tonner
    well its best to match the same size wire as the power cable that your using for the amp
     
  3. lil_mickey

    lil_mickey LOUD AND PROUD

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Location:
    Geelong; Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VH 253 :-)
    as a minimum... can be bigger if you want... and make sure you earth it to a solid steel place with nut and bolt preferably.
     
  4. COMMY VP 666

    COMMY VP 666 COMMY VP V6

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    COMMODORE VP
    yeah i got annoying buzzing, whats a good size for power and earth, lil bit more than minium for no problems.

    what size you recon?
     
  5. hakhawk

    hakhawk smooth moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    BMW E21 320i, E36 "318IS" coupe
    what size amps are you running now?

    are your rca's on the same side as the power cable?
     
  6. holdenboy

    holdenboy Custom Car Stereo Systems

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Nelson Bay NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Wagon
    Upgrading the size of your power/earth cables generally wont get rid of "buzzing" or engine interference (unless your using like 16awg cable). As a minimum you want to use 8awg power/earth cable.

    Normally this is caused by a poor earth connection. Make sure you sand/scrape back the area to bare metal, and as lil_mickey said earth it to a solid part of the car. The rear seat belt bolt is a good spot.
     
  7. COMMY VP 666

    COMMY VP 666 COMMY VP V6

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    COMMODORE VP
    yeah nah iv done everything possible to stop it

    last thing is putting proper cable and a bigger earth wire at the cd player unit
     
  8. COMMY VP 666

    COMMY VP 666 COMMY VP V6

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    COMMODORE VP
    size amps i am running now is a 1000w and a 600w
     
  9. Captain Kermit

    Captain Kermit New Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VH SL/X Wagon
    What model amps, and is it 1000w RMS or 1000 peak/max/pmpo? If it's RMS you'd want a 4gauge earth each.
     
  10. Fun_Bucket

    Fun_Bucket New Member

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Cairns White Rock
    Members Ride:
    Cruze II sri
    What do you mean buzzing noise, from the speakers do you mean while the music is playing??
     
  11. bezz

    bezz Member

    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VK

Share This Page