Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Turn double DIN into 2x single DIN ??

dob80z

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
WH GenIII Statesman
Howdy all -

Just been reading all about double din head units and using steering wheel audio controls, and have come to the realisation that if I'm careful in my next audio purchase, and buy something with a real volume KNOB, I can probably do without the fancy controls.

Which lead me to my next thought -- what if I just got a single DIN audio unit, and used the second DIN for my CB / scanner (which has a DIN mounting option) ??

Are double DIN housings able to be used in this manner - ie, mounting two single DIN devices ??
 

SweetWagon

booosted
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
2,139
Reaction score
19
Points
38
Age
32
Location
Springwood NSW
Members Ride
VS Berlina Wagon Supercharged
My dad has just done something similar in his patrol having a din size cb in the extra slot exept it already had 2 single din units.
I have seen many people put 2 individual din size units in the factory double din location in commodores. The units you buy will come with a cradle which can be pop riveted to the old housing, simple.
 

[email protected]

300rwhp supra. yay.
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
998
Reaction score
9
Points
0
Members Ride
TT Supra/HZ Ute.
Double din is just that, two single din spaces. so yes.
 

garfa

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
1,937
Reaction score
22
Points
0
Age
34
Location
SE Victoria
Members Ride
VY SS
slundy said:
Double din is just that, two single din spaces. so yes.
a din sized space is just like a cm is a cm everywhere. there maybe a little varience but bugger all. so like he (slundy) said!
 

semi

GOD
Joined
Aug 10, 2005
Messages
902
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Age
33
Location
WA
Members Ride
VR exec wagon
it took me a good 20 seconds to figure out what you were talking about when you said cm. D'OH!
 

Shounak

The Kicking Horse
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
2,500
Reaction score
60
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Vic
Members Ride
VX Executive S2 + XF Panel Van Project
Anyone know what DIN stands for?
 
Top