Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Tyring to remove the front rotors on my VS! ;( - How to?

slayer208

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS-II Esteem
Hey fellas!,

I'm currently in the process of replacing my front rotors and brake pads. I've removed the calipers and can't seem to take the rotors off? I've sprayed into the area with some WD40 and given them a light tap but to no avail. I've never done these before so can someone tell me how to go about this?

Cheers Fellas!

wortus

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Series 2 25th Anniversary in Phantom Mica
you can tap them from behind with a hammer while you rotate them. don't hit them too hard as you may bugger the bearings. If that doesn't work you can apply some gentle heat to the rotor around the centre of the hub inside of the wheel studs, and I mean gentle and the rotor will expand and come off as it's probably rusted to the part of the hub that sticks out in the centre.

slayer208

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS-II Esteem
Hey Fellas,

I figured it out! I noticed there were 3 small holes with thread in it. Found some old 202 water pump bolts and they fitted the thread perfectly. Would a couple of them in and 30 seconds later the rotors were off!

Cheers!

DLFHUB666

GIT 'EERRR DONE!!!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX SS, PX Ford Ranger XLS Dual cab
rubber mallet an go to town on it i just did the front on my vx an i had to get nasty with it

DLFHUB666

GIT 'EERRR DONE!!!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX SS, PX Ford Ranger XLS Dual cab
good on ya mine didint have the theraded holes in it

slayer208

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS-II Esteem