Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Upgrade IQ Sound System SV6 Ute

steelsabre

Reaction score
Members Ride
sv6 ute my12
Hey guys

im in the middle of planning an upgrade to my my12 utes sound system. Now im rather new to the while car audio scene and am just looking for some advice. I plan to install this all myself.

I want to get an RCA mod done but im wondering if anyone know someone that does this in the eastern suburbs of Sydney.. other wise i will have to drive out to Penrith to get it done. Can anyone vouch for the mod ? I want to make sure that its all good because i will void my warranty on the iq system :D

A few ideas going around my head for the system.. im not sure weather to get a 4 channel amp or 2 channel amp. I will only be running to front splits and maybe a sub like the focal bus25. Would a normal sub in a box work well ? I really have no clue when it comes to audio in a car.. let alone a ute with limited space!

I was thinking of pairing up there two :
Focal 2 channel amp - FPS 2160
Focal k2 165KR

with the factory head unit would it worth it ?

Or should i grab some alpines and be done with it ?

If you could let me know Some combos that you guys know are good regardless of brand would be awesome..

I also plan to document everything i do and hopefully make a how to for the VE series 2 upgrade.

Cheers

Fun_Bucket

Reaction score
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
What's Alpine got to do with anything? If you think there the bees knees then go with them, otherwise instead how about going out and actually listening to the speakers, and buy the ones you like.

Contact Preddy ASR (forum sponsor has sub forum thing at top of the main page) I'm sure he's in Sydney and can help out.

Last edited:

SUP3RST4R_DJ

Reaction score
Members Ride
2011 MY11 Holden VE SSV Ute