Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Upgrading VE Stock Speakers - How To

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by boneart, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. Major Herbie

    Major Herbie New Member

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    Loxton, South Australia
    Members Ride:
    '10 Pontiac G8 Manual '10 VE SV6 Manual
    Have a look at both my cars and you'll see how it fits into the space really nicely. I've been told I could've put two 12" ones if spaced out just right but I like the one that makes it look factory.

    I had to think about keeping my boot space, just incase if need to use the boot to transport a person or a pram(you know, the usual)
     
  2. Khabel

    Khabel Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VE SS-V
    Where does the factory amp get its input from?

    Is it RCA from the HU or just speaker wire?

    Also has anyone mounted a HU into the little pocket, coin tray thing below the aircon controls?
     
  3. gasser_neil

    gasser_neil New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Location:
    Narre Warren South
    Members Ride:
    Ve Calais v SII
    am pretty sure its just speaker wire
     
  4. Khabel

    Khabel Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VE SS-V
    Why do a lot of the write ups and videos show people tapping into the rear speakers when adding a amp and sub, why not tap into the sub wires?
     
  5. Tasmaniak

    Tasmaniak Not a valid input....

    Messages:
    8,094
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    S.E. Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
    Not all cars have the sub amp. No amp means no loom. On top of that, you often still need to get a remote source as the factory amp does not have a remote input, so you still need to run at least one wire from near the headunit so you may as well do all of them.

    In the VF its a decent story as it has an independent sub control and a remote wire. Makes it worth tapping into the sub amp if present.
     
  6. Khabel

    Khabel Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VE SS-V
    Thanks, makes sense

    Is there any difference in the sound if taping into rear speakers instead of sub wires?
     
  7. The 10th Doctor

    The 10th Doctor ambitious but rubbish

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    MY12 VE SS-V
    Is there any point in upgrading the stock speakers without amping them?
     
  8. jr_

    jr_ Donating Member

    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE II Sportwagon
    It gives you a warm fuzzy feeling that you have new stuff in your car :)

    Seriously though, if the speakers are matched (ohms and watts) to stock, yes.
    If higher ohms and wattage (and Sensitivity), no. (the speakers will sound quieter)

    I upgraded speakers (4 ohms, 50watt) about 3 years ago and it may have sounded better but I suspect that was the placebo effect of my buying new stuff for the car. And maybe replacing 5 year old speakers with new speakers.

    After reading countless threads on this question (and kicking myself...) I decided to amp them a few weeks ago, now it's better than stock (may much better is based on cost/quality of speakers, amp, LOC etc)

    Regarding all the post I read on this topic, most all answered the question of best bang for buck, which was amping the stock speakers over non-amp after market speakers.
    Also, sound deadening was often mentioned as great bang for your buck IF you were going for a full system.

    I if had my time again (and a car worth throwing money at...it is an omega after all), I'd go half decent speakers for front and rear (ie nothing under $200 a set), decent amp and sound deadening for all 4 doors. then a sub when time / money permitted.
     
  9. SnowyGT

    SnowyGT New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Glass house mountains
    Members Ride:
    2009 VE SS-V 6.0L
    Great write up, extremely helpful!!!
     
  10. Khabel

    Khabel Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VE SS-V
    Does anyone know how to pop out the pins for the front speakers from the wiring harness that connects to the side of the headunit?

    I want to run the wires for the front speakers to a LOC then a amp and instead of tapping into the existing wires I would rather replace them so I can return to stock if need be
     
  11. The 10th Doctor

    The 10th Doctor ambitious but rubbish

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    MY12 VE SS-V
    I have found a few that are 2 Ohm but most car audio stuff seems to be 4 Ohm. To save me pulling off my door trims, can anyone confirm that the Series 2's have the same impedance?

    Also, jr, did you install the amp yourself?
     
  12. jr_

    jr_ Donating Member

    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE II Sportwagon
    Yep, with a bit research it was quite straight forward and painless to install under the front seat (http://forums.justcommodores.com.au...2006-2013/233140-best-place-amp-ve-wagon.html)
    As you have a sedan, and assuming you'll probably replace all 4 speaker and (in time) get a 4 channel amp, so an amp in the boot on back seat or under side of parcel shelf would be the way to go.
     
  13. xVOIDx

    xVOIDx New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Location:
    Tylden, VIC
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V 6.0l
    So I'm completely new here, and like most ppl I love my music loud and bassy, but without compromising quality. I recently purchased an 07 VE Calais V 6L and the stereo sound quality is pretty good. Is there any easy to tell if the standard speakers have been replaced without pulling door panels off?
     
  14. Pijion

    Pijion New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE series II SV6 Thunder Ute
    Hi,

    Just my two cents worth here regarding some mods to the OEM system to my VE s2 Ute.

    1. I had installed the Fusion 10 inch subby CS-AT1100, high level input connection. Sits nicely behind the passengers seat.

    2.Sony 3 way 6 inch door speakers GT1638F, slotted straight in.

    3.Centre speaker disconnected.

    This arrangement made a BIG difference to sound for me on a budget price. Good punchy bass and crisp mids and highs. For my listening needs I did'nt go for an amp. Very happy. All professionally installed here on the Goldy for well under $500. It would be lots cheaper if the components are sourced and installed by the owner. The only bug bear is that I need to wind the gain right back on the sub when I'm playing anything other than the radio, but no biggy.

    Hope this info helps anyone wanting to improve their sound with a cheap but effective way.

    Cheers
     
  15. LUMPY_CAM

    LUMPY_CAM New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Location:
    In a Town
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    Easiest way, shine a torch through the speaker grills, look to see if the speaker cone in either a paper (factory) or plastic (aftermarket).
     
  16. Dayvo

    Dayvo Because i can

    Messages:
    2,238
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    South East,Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Series 2
    Aren't the GT1638F 6 1/2 inch 4 ohm speakers ? did you suffer any loss of volume with them .
     
  17. Pijion

    Pijion New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE series II SV6 Thunder Ute
    Sorry for the late reply Dayvo, those speakers are 4 ohm but I havent noticed a loss in volume. Still plenty of punch with windows down ect. The installer told me to install amps if I was'nt happy with the volume anyway.
    Cheers
     
  18. Dayvo

    Dayvo Because i can

    Messages:
    2,238
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    South East,Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Series 2
    No worries mate ,I have a pair of them sitting in the shed somewhere. I went to Autobarn in Dandenong looking for a pair of 2ohm speakers and the guy tried to tell me that all VE commodores use 4 ohm speakers from factory .
     
  19. Pijion

    Pijion New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VE series II SV6 Thunder Ute
    Just checked the OEM ones that were replaced. They are marked as 2 Ohm as previous posters have stated Dayvo. The 4 Ohm Sony work fine, mids are fuller and the highs are a lot crisper than the Holden Originals mate. Cheers
     
  20. jamo22

    jamo22 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Holden Commodore Z-Series Sportwagon
    Awesome Guide! :)
     

Share This Page