Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

V T SRS airbag light stays on.

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Rod Hirst, Mar 9, 2018.

  1. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    Ive had an issue with the srs light coming on beeping three times ,stays on for a while after three or so kms goes out,but reappears once car is turned off.I have heard that the terminal conectors leading to the pretensioners (green with metal clips) and some of the other conectors beside seat can bring up an error if they have moisture or corrosion on any of there contacts. I removed both battery terminals ,left for a day or two removed seats,inspected terminal conectors,one leadind to side airbag was corroded ,cleaned that, used conductive carbon grease to lube contacts,checked all leads etc no problems anywhere.Purchased SRS diagnostic scanning software but Software wont connect up to car. my question is,if the ABS computer module is faulty,(only the srs light is staying on) will it prevent me from connecting up to car to diagnose??
     
  2. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    if the abs has a short you may not be able to connect scan tool
    also be advised there are not many scan tools that can connect to pre ve commodores
     
  3. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    Thanks for advice regarding scan tool, one I have is from Envious Customs, SRS Diagnostics developed to connect to
    VT, s such as mine which is a 1999. Saw a video of abs module being replaced, bloke said if the module was faulty it wouldn't let you connect diagnostic scanners, ie would not connect, just wasn't sure if this was fact, cheers.
     
  4. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    Had a similar problem in my VX GTS and yes, it ended up being a faulty SDM (Sensing and Diagnostic Module). The module is easy to replace as it's located below the centre console and can be accessed once you remove the console. Best bet is to remove the console and record the identification information for the module so that you are sure to get the correct replacement. I replaced mine with a second-hand unit and it worked fine. Check out the instructions attached below. The SDM is shown on the bottom right of the diagram.

    VT-VX Centre Console Remove.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
  5. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    Thanks for info regarding SDM,if i have to replace the( Sensor Diagnostic Module) are there any specific steps needed to disconnect the module safley and reconnect it ????. Of course i am assuming here remove both battery terminals wait for a while to discharge any capacitors etc ,cheers.
     
  6. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    GEN-F2 GTS A6, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    Here you are:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Perkies

    Perkies New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Vt Berlina
    Had a smililar problem in my Vt berlina but srs light stayed on and didn’t go out like yours did. You have to be careful with scan tools a lot won’t work in the v6 models and will only work on the v8 models. Make sure your horns working if it isn’t it generally means it’s your clock spring. I went through 4 clock springs in mine 2 air bags and a pretensioner trying to get my light off. I just thought I was given dodgy parts. So I took it to an auto elec (which I should’ve done in the first place to pin point my problem...) turns out my cluster had been changed and the computer thought it had 6 airbags when the car only had 4. Not sure if it helps at all but could be your problem
     
  8. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    Does anyone know if Holden can bench test the ABS computer module without having the whole car there??,i suspect it is the abs module but dont know for a fact .As i can't connect my scanner to the car ECU ,ie wont let me connect up ,wont even detect ignition on and scanner is defiantly made for the VT V6 with ALDL cable,im thinking i mite have to bite the bullet and take the car to holden and see if they can tell me what the problem is and where at great expense.
     
  9. Buck

    Buck New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    Holden commodore vt 3.8
    Hey I've got the same problem.. Is it possible to just disconnect air bag power (fuse) or something just to get the light to turn off.
     
  10. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    The light needs to be reset to turn it off, nothing else will do it, apart from removing the globe, which I definitely do not recommend, besides you still get the chimes. Even if you find out what the problem is and fix it, the light will still stay on until it is reset.
     
  11. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    Not really the answer disconnecting airbag light as over here in NZ they check the SRS, ABS etc are on when ignition is turned on, then go out after the self test function is complete after starting engine, if light stays on you won't get a warrant of fitness.
     
  12. Buck

    Buck New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    Holden commodore vt 3.8
    OK thanks for the info. How about if I reset ? I've changed the seats . But not worrying about air bags. .Atm...will resetting car stop air bag light But still show srs light when ignition is on..?
     
  13. Buck

    Buck New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    Holden commodore vt 3.8
    So resetting car will turn air bag light off without fixing issue.. (I've changed my seats to ss) But when ignition is turned on will show that power is getting to the srs system ? To pass a wof
     
  14. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,687
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    I'm not really sure what you are saying, resetting the light will work if the issue has been fixed, the light won't turn off if you just fix the problem and don't have it reset.
    If you just changed the seats to the same specs as the original there shouldn't be a problem unless you turned on the ignition with some part of the SRS system disconnected.
    If your old seats had airbags and the new ones don't, or vice versa, you will need to have the cluster re-calibrated and then the light reset.
     
  15. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    Yeh i agree to what Buck has said,the issue must be fixed before you can reset anything. As i also understand it probably has to be done with a diagnostic scanner,which should point to any issues and where.
     
  16. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    going back to rod
    if you unplug abs module
    then see if your scan tool connects
    if it connects with abs unplugged but not with abs plugged in theres your problem
    if it still does not connect and you are sure it is not your scan tool
    try engineering check and see who is not talking
    https://forums.justcommodores.com.au/threads/vx-dreaded-serv-error-_.261820/
    read display diagnostics and perform those checks
     
    Lex likes this.
  17. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    I have just used the
    Display Diagnostics on my VT. Voltages etc seem ok nothing obviously wrong here, its the Dash Diagnostic codes I'm interested in here,if anyone can help, also what the symbol - - means, what nu means, what H- means and what HC means?and what each code relates too?.
    Dash codes read as follows
    T00 - -
    T01 - -
    T02 - -
    T03 nu
    T04 nu
    T05 nu
    T05 nu
    T06 nu
    T07 nu
    T08 H -
    T09 H -
    T10 nu
    T11 H -
    T12 H -
    T13 H -
    T14 H -
    T15 - -
    T16 HC
    T17 H -
    T18 - -
    T19 H -
    T20 HC
    T21 nu
    T22 nu
    T23 nu
    T24 - -
    T25 - -
    T26 - -
    T27 nu
    T28 nu
    T29 nu
    T30 nu
    T31 nu
    I'm suspecting here ABS module, and SDM module are possibly the fault.
     
  18. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    I have redone the trouble code test, and the dash or instrument test where all lights and chimes come on /instruments move. Everything works and comes on, EXCEPT, Low Track, and ABS.
     
  19. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
  20. Rod Hirst

    Rod Hirst New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore Acclaim 3.8
    Thanks Lout for info on abbreviations for reading trouble codes, starting to make more sense slowly. Going from the link you sent me, someone did the trip diagnostic test which I looked at. I was interested where he had written his trouble codes where it read no serial data HC. In my test HC came up only twice in whole test, t16 HC, t20 HC. Can I assume the t16 HC, is the abs and it has no serial communication, t20 HC, is the SDM also with no serial communication.?. I'm considering unplugging abs module and seing if scanner will connect. If it doesn't, going by one of your posts, it is most likely the abs module at fault, if I have my facts right of course.
     

Share This Page