Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

V8 Engine Vibration

VL dude

Reaction score
Members Ride
VL V8 Opera House Limited Edition
Hi. New to the forums, and this is my first post.
I have a factory 304 VL which has developed a vibration between 2500 and 3000rpm.
The problem is present when the vehicle is stationary and in park or neutral, as well as on the road so I have eliminated the gearbox (auto), tailshaft, diff, wheels, suspension, steering.
I have replaced engine and transmission mounts, harmonic balancer, dizzy cap, plugs and leads.
I am not an expert by any means and have never pulled an engine apart, however I am starting to think it to be internal to the engine somewhere.
Can anyone suggest what I should be looking for and how I might test to eliminate possibilities before I pull this thing apart? I am on a very limited budget as a single dad so cant just spend money for the sake of it.
Thanks

Last edited:

Smitty

Reaction score
Members Ride
GenF SV340 R8 Tourer, VK race car, ZX12R
.. what sort of vibration?

a buzzy one ? (like something from the valvetrain) or rocking type one? (yes.. like a failed engine mount)
or one from a miss?

VL dude

Reaction score
Members Ride
.. what sort of vibration?

a buzzy one ? (like something from the valvetrain) or rocking type one? (yes.. like a failed engine mount)
or one from a miss?
Not really sure what you mean... however its like a high frequency resonating humming/buzzy type one. If I had to verbalise it I would say it is like a repetitive VRR VRR VRR vibration. The resonating aspect of it is as annoying as the actual vibration through the car.

Last edited:

rambunctious

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Executive Wagon