Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VC - 253 please help

T-Bone75

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF SSV Redline, VC resto
Firstly, sorry for the long post.

I am after some help please with my freshly rebuilt 253 (in a VC).
I've done all the work myself, I am not a mechanic and have been learning as I go. Father-son bonding with my 9y/o boy (the car will be his eventually).

No doubt I could have done things better, I admit this - so please be gentle.

Bought the car unregistered 6 months ago, did not know the history of the engine other than it had sat virtually unused for a long time. Externally it was rough as but it did however start and run.

Over the past 5 months I have stripped the engine down and rebuilt. In retrospect I probably didn't need to go as far as I did, but as I said, I didn't know the history and couldn't see the state of it until I stripped it down.

The engine had been rebuilt previously and I don't think it'd done many km since, judging by the internals (not that I am an expert) - but there was still hone marks evident in the cylinders and the piston faces had very little residue. I cleaned everything up meticulously.

It was .060 overbore and I replaced the existing rings (with cast rings), the conrod and main bearings were .010 and I replaced with the same.
I put new Crane lifters in and a new mild cam. Cam instructions said to set up timing as per stock cam. I put Moroso Moly assembly paste on all bearings and the cam lobes, and engine oil over the piston rings, lifters, rods etc.
(I had lapped the valves, and tested all pushrods for straightness.)
All bolts were torqued to workshop manual spec.