Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VC Commodore - Need help!

ash23

Reaction score
Members Ride
VL
Hey, I'm fairly new here, this is my first thread actually.

I own a VC commodore which i got off my uncle who has kept it in PERFECT condition. it has been kept running and registered for a long time now but hardly driven (uncle is almost blind).

It only has around 150 000kms.

I got it almost completely original except for an aftermarket air conditioner.

I have only done small mods to it, steering wheel, sound system, new horn, gearshift etc and plan to do a lot more, mainly body work, but i want to try and get a bit more performance out of it with as little cost as possible.

any suggestions?

any help greatly appreciated as i'm pretty new to this

cheers

Tom_1569

Ecotech Power
Reaction score
Members Ride
'14 SR5 Pusslux
What motor to start with?

If its original and in as good as condition as you describe, its probably worth more, then tacky mods, no offense, but it depends what you want from the car.

ash23

Reaction score
Members Ride
VL
Original straight 6 blue motor, 202?
The body has a fair bit of surface rust as it lived near the sea most of its life.

definately only a muck around car

Tom_1569

Ecotech Power
Reaction score
Members Ride
'14 SR5 Pusslux
A good service to start with.
Air, oil and fuel filter, fresh oil. Dissy cap, rotor button, coil, leads and plugs, should brighten it up to start, and having it running good before you start modding.

If you wanna stay carb'd 202 then;
A 34 ADM weber carb off a XE ford, rebuild it, or get it rebuilt so its 100%, alternativly get a reco'd carb (assuming its a Varijet), this can make a suprising difference bringing it back up to stock specs.
extractors, and a 2 1/4 inch (no bigger) exhaust.