Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ve 3.0l sidi error code P0300 , any ideas??

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by ozjet400, Jan 8, 2018.

  1. ozjet400

    ozjet400 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Members Ride:
    VE commodore , Mercedes CLK500, Lexus GS300
    Hi guys.

    I have a 2010 VE Commodore, 3.0L Sidi , it’s throwing up an P0300 code ( engine light coming on) the car still runs fine, no misfiring, I took it for a run today to see if I could make the engine light come on, I found when I put it in manual shift, I fine the light comes on at around 3000rpm when backing off, coming back down in rpm... due to no obvious misfire , I’m hesitant to think it’s a coil or a plug, it’s got 150.000kms on it, I’ve checked the coil wiring earth straps, cleaned them up

    Any assistance would be appreciated

    Thanks in Advance
     
  2. h8tensv6

    h8tensv6 Active Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 SV6 2002 VX 1989 VN 5 Litre
    If you google p0300 for Ve it says random misfire. You said you don't have a misfire so could be anything like loose wire or faulty sensor causing it. Mention it to Holden next time your car goes in for a service or work and see if they can find the fault. There are that many sensors on Ve engines it would be hard to trace it yourself unless you were and electronic genius. What fuel are you using. We found the wife's omega with the 3.0 litre coughs and splutters a bit on e10 but not enough to send off any alarms. Doesn't do it on 95 or 98.
     
  3. ozjet400

    ozjet400 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Members Ride:
    VE commodore , Mercedes CLK500, Lexus GS300
    Thanks for your reply.

    Yeah, if it has a misfire, it’s not noticeable, I generally run 91 or 95, however it’s had around 2 tanks of e10 in it over the past 6 months, I tend to agree about it being an electrical connection, sensor, I’m about to put new plugs in tonight, I don’t think that will be the issue,as it’s go 154000kms on it, I doubt they have been changes, plus I can have a look at the plugs
     
  4. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    3,138
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
  5. ozjet400

    ozjet400 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Members Ride:
    VE commodore , Mercedes CLK500, Lexus GS300
    Hi,

    No, I haven’t had the car from new, second owner,

    Thanks for the link, I’ll check it out
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  6. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    3,138
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    Have the O2 sensors ever been replaced.
    Should be replaced about 80000klms.
     
  7. ozjet400

    ozjet400 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Members Ride:
    VE commodore , Mercedes CLK500, Lexus GS300
    Hi. I looked at the live stream data on the scanner tool. And got the following.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    May be carboned up intake valves, this will cause intermittent misfire. As SIDIs are direct injection the fuel doesn't pass through the intake valves so they slowly build up carbon till it actually stops the valves sealing properly and results in misfire. You can pop the intake manifold off and look down the intake runners with a torch and you will see if the valves are caked in carbon.
     
  9. ozjet400

    ozjet400 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Members Ride:
    VE commodore , Mercedes CLK500, Lexus GS300
    Hi.

    Thanks for your reply.

    I have taken the intake manifold off. Looks good in the intake ports for carbon. I cleaned what was there up

    I was messing around with it today. I had the maf senor unplugged. (It had maf codes). But no p0300 and ran much better. Might be a dodgy maf. Or not having it plugged in could of masked the issue
     
  10. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    3,138
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    Did you clean the maf with maf cleaner
     
  11. ozjet400

    ozjet400 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Members Ride:
    VE commodore , Mercedes CLK500, Lexus GS300
  12. ozjet400

    ozjet400 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Members Ride:
    VE commodore , Mercedes CLK500, Lexus GS300
    I just replaced the coils. New plugs. New 02 sensors ( all 4) cleaned the MAF with the correct cleaner. Checked the intake for carbon. Cleaned the throttle body out. Went over every single vacuum line. Even sprayed carb cleaner around every vacuum line and joint to find any vacuum leaks

    Battery voltage over 13v when not running. 14.3 when idling

    I hold the throttle to 2500- 3000 rpm while stopped In park. the P0300 code still appears .. the engine sounds great. No misfire

    I am now getting a brake and abs fault light. While the car is not moving... and these faults don't come up on the scanner... just the P0300

    Any advise welcome
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2018
  13. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    Does your scan tool show a misfire graphic so you can see which cylinders are misfiring? You won't always feel misfire.
     
  14. ozjet400

    ozjet400 New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Members Ride:
    VE commodore , Mercedes CLK500, Lexus GS300
    Hi..

    It might be a dodgy alternator

    Ive been just checking the voltage at the jump start points under the bonnet.

    It can fluctuate between 12.5 to 15.2 v at idle

    Seems to be erratic
     
  15. Danny-VE

    Danny-VE New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    2011 Copmmodore VE Series II 3.0L V6
    I'm having the same symptoms:
    1. The princess highway in Adelaide has a steep descend in to the city and I usually run the engine brake so that I don't cook the brakes going down. After about 2 minutes I start getting check engine and the Stability Control OFF warning but it goes away after returning to normal driving conditions on the flat.
    2. While sitting at the light the engine starts having a slight tremor and feels like it is skipping explosions but no CEL.
    3. Fuel consumption seems to have increased a bit and also seems to loose some power.
    4. When I start it from cold, it idles high much longer that usual before returning to normal idling RPMs

    Had it in the service and they, supposedly, replaced my spark plugs, cleaned the valves and check the compression, etc... but nothing.

    I am now suspecting either a vacuum leak, the EGR valve or the coils. I posted a question on the forum to find out where the EGR valve is and maybe obtain a manual so that I can take it out...

    Any other updates, have you located you cause.?

    EDIT: Forgot the car... 2011 Commodore VE Series 2 Omega, 3.0 V6 SIDI.
    EDIT 2: Forgot the ODB Code... P0300 and nothing else.

    Thank you,
    Daniel
     
  16. VTS5

    VTS5 TechJunkie

    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sth.East\Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE OMEGA
    Just replace the coils.. Cause 9 out 10 times coil/s is the culprit.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  17. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    3,138
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    I sent OP a PM hope he replies.
     

Share This Page