Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VE Commodore Tranmission Change?

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by Thatlvl3ude, Sep 14, 2019 at 2:17 PM.

  1. Thatlvl3ude

    Thatlvl3ude New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Saturday
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VE Omega 3.6
    I have a 4 speed 2007 VE Omega Commodore with a broken transmission.

    I don't know what transmission is inside it, it's a 4 speed. Was wondering if it's possible to replace the 4 speed with a 5/6 speed? The car is a run around, and I don't mind spending the cash on a second hand 6 speed transmission. Will it fit onto the car and work? If so, what transmission will I need?

    TLDR; Can I upgrade from 4 speed to 6 speed transmission, and if so what would I need?

    Thanks
     
  2. gossie

    gossie Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,575
    Likes Received:
    248
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Gold Coast.
    Members Ride:
    VE International 3.6L
    Wasting your money.
    Change over 4 speed box is what you need to do, and nothing wrong with them.
    Don't abuse it and it will last 100s of thousand of kilometers. Mechanical sympathy is the name of the game.
    What actually do you think you will achieve by going 6 speed?.....Serous question.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  3. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    4,905
    Likes Received:
    670
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    You can't do it. If you want a six speed go and buy a car with a six speed in it
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  4. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    459
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    You would need to transplant an entirely different wiring loom, PCM, matching bcm, that would then need matching ECU and the rabbit hole gets deeper...
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  5. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Go the whole hog, LS3/6L80e combo...
     
    VTS5, Fu Manchu and VS_Pete like this.

Share This Page