Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VE Head unit in a VZ??

scottishgit

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
Members Ride
VZ SS
Hi folks. Not sure if this has been covered yet.
I've got a VZ SS and have installed a computer system with touchscreen etc. To get the audio feed, I had to put in a single DIN aftermarket head unit.
I looked at a VE today and they have an AUX input, which would have allowed me to keep the steering wheel controls and good look of the standard unit. Are these units interchangeable from VE to VZ?
 

iSeeK

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
2002 VX S 3.8
you know some head unit manufacturers sell devices that allow you to interface the steering wheel controls with your head unit.

im sure in theory it would work, wire colours might be different though.
 

Doctor Bob

Grandpa
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
2,792
Reaction score
60
Points
48
Location
Retired
Members Ride
RG. Colorado & Caravan
not possible, the chassis is seperate to the fascia & the security setup in them is too complex
Rob
 

Phreddy

Bye SV6 - still love you
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,425
Reaction score
39
Points
0
Location
W-Sydney NSW
Website
www.asr-audio.com.au
Members Ride
VS-II Statey-8
Scottishgit - I have a possible solution for you.

Check my web site - www.asr-audio.com.au

Cheerz!
 

fabz

I Can Do Science Me
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
912
Reaction score
10
Points
0
Age
38
Location
In My Car!!
Members Ride
Blown V6 VT commodore 5 speed
Scottishgit - I have a possible solution for you.

Check my web site - www.asr-audio.com.au

Cheerz!
Is there a way of getting a blue dash into a VT? anything at all, like change the whole dial section or would i have to custome make one?
 

scottishgit

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
Members Ride
VZ SS
Scottishgit - I have a possible solution for you.

Check my web site - www.asr-audio.com.au

Cheerz!
Input option looks good - may indeed be what I'm looking for. How much would it be 'all in' if I send you the VZ head unit, you do all the work, and send it back to me in Melbourne with the Holden switch assembly all ready to install?
 
Top